Design and Digital Art Master’s degree
404 programs — 111 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, ordered by median debt against median earnings — lowest first.
Data last updated
Specific program
Schools file the same degree under different federal codes — Berklee’s music production sits under “Music, Other”, Academy of Art’s under “Recording Arts”. These groups gather every code a program is actually filed under.
Field
| Institution | Programcredential and delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Western Governors UniversityUT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · HybridOffers: Computer Science (BS) · Software Engineering (BS) · Information Technology (BS) · User Experience Design (BS) · Front-End Web Development (Certificate) | $7,989 | $71,469 | 11% |
| California State University-Monterey BayCA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $14,540 | $104,220 | 14% |
| Harvard UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | $20,500 | $127,546 | 16% |
| Concordia University-IrvineCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $20,500 | $102,896 | 20% |
| California State University-FullertonCA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $20,300 | $91,755 | 22% |
| National UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $23,284 | $93,547 | 25% |
| Florida State UniversityFL · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $20,500 | $77,041 | 27% |
| Aurora UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | $20,505 | $76,260 | 27% |
| Liberty UniversityVA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Graphic DesignInterior DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $30,991 | $112,935 | 27% |
| Utah State UniversityUT · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $23,965 | $86,107 | 28% |
| The University of Texas Rio Grande ValleyTX · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $19,000 | $67,562 | 28% |
| University of West GeorgiaGA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $21,320 | $74,243 | 29% |
| Northern Illinois UniversityIL · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $23,063 | $79,429 | 29% |
| Saint Mary's University of MinnesotaMN · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $20,500 | $69,960 | 29% |
| SUNY OneontaNY · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $19,261 | $65,141 | 30% |
| Grand Canyon UniversityAZ · Private for-profitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $22,495 | $75,799 | 30% |
| Concordia University-ChicagoIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $22,899 | $74,446 | 31% |
| Lamar UniversityTX · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $20,500 | $66,550 | 31% |
| Wilmington UniversityDE · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $23,098 | $74,740 | 31% |
| Commonwealth University of PennsylvaniaPA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $25,888 | $83,710 | 31% |
| Purdue University GlobalIN · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · HybridOffers: Business Administration (BS) · Business Administration (AS) · Marketing (BS) · Organizational Management (BS) · Information Technology (BS) · Information Technology (AAS) · Cybersecurity (BS) · Cybersecurity Management (MS) | $26,963 | $79,398 | 34% |
| Boise State UniversityID · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $25,650 | $75,451 | 34% |
| University of North TexasTX · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | $27,975 | $82,284 | 34% |
| Long Island UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | $31,250 | $91,452 | 34% |
| Southern Arkansas University Main CampusAR · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $17,362 | $49,718 | 35% |
| Michigan State UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $24,608 | $67,489 | 36% |
| University of Central MissouriMO · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $20,250 | $54,579 | 37% |
| University of Maryland Global CampusMD · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $28,963 | $76,376 | 38% |
| Fort Hays State UniversityKS · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $24,840 | $64,964 | 38% |
| Arkansas Tech UniversityAR · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $19,230 | $49,760 | 39% |
| Trevecca Nazarene UniversityTN · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $24,821 | $64,048 | 39% |
| Valdosta State UniversityGA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | $27,924 | $71,246 | 39% |
| University of GeorgiaGA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $31,831 | $79,901 | 40% |
| Capella UniversityMN · Private for-profitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $33,324 | $80,916 | 41% |
| Atlantic UniversityPR · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campus | $16,220 | $37,426 | 43% |
| William Woods UniversityMO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $19,491 | $44,336 | 44% |
| University of Central FloridaFL · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $34,676 | $78,410 | 44% |
| Texas A & M University-College StationTX · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $30,780 | $68,705 | 45% |
| Park UniversityMO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $22,955 | $51,148 | 45% |
| University of West AlabamaAL · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $27,333 | $60,086 | 45% |
| Arizona State University Digital ImmersionAZ · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $33,942 | $74,398 | 46% |
| Kennesaw State UniversityGA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $33,950 | $70,302 | 48% |
| The New SchoolNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Fashion/Apparel DesignMaster’s degree · On campusOffers: Communication Design (Parsons) (BFA) · Illustration (Parsons) (BFA) · Design and Technology (Parsons) (BFA) · Integrated Design (Parsons) (BFA) · Photography (Parsons) (BFA)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Industrial and Product DesignInterior DesignIllustrationDesign and Applied Arts, OtherGraphic DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $42,587 | $86,473 | 49% |
| Coastal Carolina UniversitySC · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $27,717 | $55,622 | 50% |
| Full Sail UniversityFL · Private for-profitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · HybridOffers: Audio Production (BS) · Music Production (BS) · Recording Arts (BS) · Live Event Production (BS) · Music Business (BS) · Film Production (BFA) · Game Design (BS) · Game Development (BS) · Computer Animation (BS) · Graphic Design (BS) · Digital Marketing (BS) | $35,077 | $69,641 | 50% |
| Jacksonville State UniversityAL · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $31,507 | $60,576 | 52% |
| Maryland Institute College of ArtMD · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:IllustrationIndustrial and Product DesignDesign and Visual Communications, GeneralGame and Interactive Media DesignGraphic DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $39,905 | $73,348 | 54% |
| American InterContinental University-AtlantaGA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $33,474 | $60,586 | 55% |
| American InterContinental University SystemAZ · Private for-profitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $33,474 | $60,586 | 55% |
| New Jersey City UniversityNJ · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $41,000 | $71,597 | 57% |
| Georgia Southern UniversityGA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $37,427 | $64,747 | 58% |
| Liberty UniversityVA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $34,166 | $55,451 | 62% |
| Wayne State UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $40,500 | $61,791 | 66% |
| Full Sail UniversityFL · Private for-profitRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · Fully onlineOffers: Audio Production (BS) · Music Production (BS) · Recording Arts (BS) · Live Event Production (BS) · Music Business (BS) · Film Production (BFA) · Game Design (BS) · Game Development (BS) · Computer Animation (BS) · Graphic Design (BS) · Digital Marketing (BS)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Design and Visual Communications, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $40,077 | $60,023 | 67% |
| Arizona State University Campus ImmersionAZ · PublicRequest information → | Fashion/Apparel DesignMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Graphic DesignInterior DesignIndustrial and Product DesignDesign and Visual Communications, GeneralDesign and Applied Arts, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $60,449 | $69,930 | 86% |
| Arizona State University Digital ImmersionAZ · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $60,449 | $69,930 | 86% |
| California College of the ArtsCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Fine/Studio Arts, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Intermedia/MultimediaPaintingJewelry ArtsCeramic Arts and CeramicsSculptureArt History, Criticism and ConservationPrintmakingFiber, Textile and Weaving ArtsFine Arts and Art Studies, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $51,870 | $57,717 | 90% |
| DePaul UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | $53,300 | $58,803 | 91% |
| George Washington UniversityDC · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Interior DesignMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Design and Visual Communications, GeneralGraphic DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $75,495 | $75,210 | 100% |
| Savannah College of Art and DesignGA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | IllustrationMaster’s degree · Online or on campusOffers: Film and Television (BFA) · Animation (BFA) · Animation (MA/MFA) · Visual Effects (BFA) · Motion Media Design (BFA) · Illustration (BFA) · Illustration (MA/MFA) · Graphic Design (BA/BFA)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Interior DesignFashion/Apparel DesignDesign and Visual Communications, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $82,741 | $65,866 | 126% |
| Academy of Art UniversityCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · HybridOffers: Music Production and Sound Design for Visual Media (BFA) · Music Scoring and Composition (BFA) · Game Development (BFA) · Animation and Visual Effects (BFA) · Graphic Design (BFA) · Illustration (BFA) · Visual Development (BFA) | $83,224 | $64,026 | 130% |
| Marymount UniversityVA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Interior DesignMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Fashion/Apparel DesignDesign and Visual Communications, GeneralDesign and Applied Arts, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $95,211 | $69,957 | 136% |
| Pratt Institute-MainNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusOffers: Game Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – 2-D Animation (BFA) · Digital Arts – 3-D Animation and Motion Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – Art and Technology (BFA) · Graphic Design (AOS)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Interior DesignIndustrial and Product DesignIllustrationDesign and Visual Communications, GeneralFashion/Apparel DesignGame and Interactive Media DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $123,755 | $82,883 | 149% |
| Academy of Art UniversityCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | IllustrationMaster’s degree · HybridOffers: Music Production and Sound Design for Visual Media (BFA) · Music Scoring and Composition (BFA) · Game Development (BFA) · Animation and Visual Effects (BFA) · Graphic Design (BFA) · Illustration (BFA) · Visual Development (BFA)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Fashion/Apparel DesignCommercial and Advertising ArtThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $93,267 | $57,636 | 162% |
| Maryland Institute College of ArtMD · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Intermedia/MultimediaMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:PaintingFiber, Textile and Weaving ArtsSculpturePrintmakingCeramic Arts and CeramicsFine Arts and Art Studies, OtherArt/Art Studies, GeneralArt History, Criticism and ConservationDrawingThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $98,610 | $51,820 | 190% |
| Savannah College of Art and DesignGA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · Fully onlineOffers: Film and Television (BFA) · Animation (BFA) · Animation (MA/MFA) · Visual Effects (BFA) · Motion Media Design (BFA) · Illustration (BFA) · Illustration (MA/MFA) · Graphic Design (BA/BFA) | $99,295 | $51,962 | 191% |
| Appalachian State UniversityNC · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | — | $58,140 | — |
| Atlantic UniversityPR · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | $15,475 | — | — |
| Bowling Green State University-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information → | Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Graphic DesignFashion/Apparel DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $48,570 | — |
| California Institute of the ArtsCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Fine/Studio Arts, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Intermedia/MultimediaThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $24,720 | — |
| California State University-Long BeachCA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | — | $77,837 | — |
| Carnegie Mellon UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | $64,233 | — | — |
| Central Connecticut State UniversityCT · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $67,787 | — |
| Cranbrook Academy of ArtMI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Industrial and Product DesignMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Graphic DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $63,500 | — | — |
| Drexel UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Graphic DesignFashion/Apparel DesignInterior DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $80,986 | — |
| East Carolina UniversityNC · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | — | $68,606 | — |
| Georgia State UniversityGA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $41,000 | — | — |
| Grand Valley State UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | — | $59,199 | — |
| Illinois Institute of TechnologyIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $144,324 | — |
| Johns Hopkins UniversityMD · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | — | $71,213 | — |
| Kent State University at KentOH · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | — | $58,965 | — |
| Kutztown University of PennsylvaniaPA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $64,548 | — |
| Massachusetts College of Art and DesignMA · PublicRequest information → | PaintingMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Fine/Studio Arts, GeneralIntermedia/MultimediaJewelry ArtsSculpturePrintmakingArt History, Criticism and ConservationFiber, Textile and Weaving ArtsCeramic Arts and CeramicsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $41,000 | — | — |
| Miami University-OxfordOH · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | — | $62,832 | — |
| Minnesota State University-MankatoMN · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | — | $75,574 | — |
| Molloy CollegeNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $90,686 | — |
| New York UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully onlineOffers: Film and Television (Tisch) (BFA) · Game Design (Tisch Game Center) (BFA) · Integrated Design and Media (Tandon) (BS) · Computer Science (Tandon) (BS) · Computer Science (Tandon) (MS) | — | $117,843 | — |
| North Carolina State University at RaleighNC · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | — | $70,081 | — |
| North Carolina State University at RaleighNC · PublicRequest information → | Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Graphic DesignIndustrial and Product DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $60,289 | — |
| Pacific Northwest College of ArtOR · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Fine Arts and Art Studies, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:PrintmakingIntermedia/MultimediaFine/Studio Arts, GeneralSculpturePaintingThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $90,387 | — | — |
| Quinnipiac UniversityCT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | — | $93,639 | — |
| Rhode Island School of DesignRI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | IllustrationMaster’s degree · Not reported | — | $93,136 | — |
| Saint Leo UniversityFL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | — | $70,166 | — |
| School of Visual ArtsNY · Private for-profitRequest information → | IllustrationMaster’s degree · On campusOffers: Animation (BFA) · 3D Animation and Visual Effects (BFA) · Design (BFA) · Illustration (BFA) · Cartooning (BFA) · Advertising (BFA) · Film (BFA) · Photography and Video (BFA)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Interior DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $65,176 | — |
| Stockton UniversityNJ · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | — | $65,667 | — |
| Teachers College at Columbia UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $90,375 | — |
| Texas A & M University-CommerceTX · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | — | $64,997 | — |
| Texas Tech UniversityTX · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | — | $64,716 | — |
| Touro UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | — | $94,743 | — |
| Towson UniversityMD · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | — | $77,782 | — |
| University of Akron Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $73,409 | — |
| University of BaltimoreMD · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $63,427 | — |
| University of Colorado BoulderCO · PublicRequest information → | Fine/Studio Arts, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Art History, Criticism and ConservationIntermedia/MultimediaThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $40,376 | — |
| University of Hawaii at ManoaHI · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $86,201 | — |
| University of Massachusetts-BostonMA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $108,956 | — |
| University of Michigan-FlintMI · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $67,971 | — |
| University of OregonOR · PublicRequest information → | Intermedia/MultimediaMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Art/Art Studies, GeneralArt History, Criticism and ConservationFine/Studio Arts, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $47,580 | — |
| Virginia Commonwealth UniversityVA · PublicRequest information → | IllustrationMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Fashion/Apparel DesignGraphic DesignDesign and Applied Arts, OtherInterior DesignDesign and Visual Communications, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $65,638 | — |
| West Texas A & M UniversityTX · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | — | $65,110 | — |
| West Virginia UniversityWV · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | — | $77,590 | — |
| Western Illinois UniversityIL · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | — | $63,099 | — |
| Academy of Art UniversityCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · HybridOffers: Music Production and Sound Design for Visual Media (BFA) · Music Scoring and Composition (BFA) · Game Development (BFA) · Animation and Visual Effects (BFA) · Graphic Design (BFA) · Illustration (BFA) · Visual Development (BFA) | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Adelphi UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| American College of EducationIN · Private for-profitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| American UniversityDC · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Game and Interactive Media DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Ana G. Mendez UniversityFL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Anderson UniversitySC · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Arizona State University Campus ImmersionAZ · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Art Center College of DesignCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | IllustrationMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Graphic DesignCommercial and Advertising ArtThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Asbury UniversityKY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Ashford UniversityCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Auburn UniversityAL · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Auburn UniversityAL · PublicRequest information → | Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Industrial and Product DesignInterior DesignDesign and Applied Arts, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Auburn University at MontgomeryAL · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Azusa Pacific UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Azusa Pacific UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Game and Interactive Media DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Baker UniversityKS · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Ball State UniversityIN · PublicRequest information → | Interior DesignMaster’s degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Commercial and Advertising ArtFashion/Apparel DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Bellevue UniversityNE · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Bob Jones UniversitySC · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · Not reportedWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Fashion/Apparel DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Boise State UniversityID · PublicRequest information → | Game and Interactive Media DesignMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Design and Visual Communications, GeneralCommercial and Advertising ArtThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Boston CollegeMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Boston UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Bradley UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Game and Interactive Media DesignMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Graphic DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Bridgewater State UniversityMA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Brigham Young UniversityUT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Brigham Young UniversityUT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Graphic DesignIllustrationIndustrial and Product DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Buena Vista UniversityIA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California Baptist UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · Not reportedWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Interior DesignIllustrationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California College of the ArtsCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California College of the ArtsCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:IllustrationIndustrial and Product DesignFashion/Apparel DesignInterior DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California Institute of the ArtsCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California Institute of the ArtsCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California Polytechnic State University-San Luis ObispoCA · PublicRequest information → | Graphic Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-East BayCA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-Long BeachCA · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Interior DesignIndustrial and Product DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-Los AngelesCA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-NorthridgeCA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-San BernardinoCA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Canisius UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Showing 150 of 404 programs, lowest debt-to-earnings first. Sorting reorders these 150; narrow the filters to bring the rest into view.
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.
One thing these figures cannot tell you
Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Design and Digital Art” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. Full methodology.