Design and Digital Art Master’s degree
23 programs — 4 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, led by institutions where this is the main program rather than one of many. Federal figures cover the wider program family, so a row may share its numbers with related degrees.
Data last updated
Specific program
Schools file the same degree under different federal codes — Berklee’s music production sits under “Music, Other”, Academy of Art’s under “Recording Arts”. These groups gather every code a program is actually filed under.
Field
Delivery
| Institution | Programcredential and delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DePaul UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | $53,300 | $58,803 | 91% |
| Academy of Art UniversityCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · HybridOffers: Animation and Visual Effects (BFA) | $83,224 | $64,026 | 130% |
| Savannah College of Art and DesignGA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · Fully onlineOffers: Animation (BFA) · Animation (MA/MFA) · Visual Effects (BFA) · Motion Media Design (BFA) | $99,295 | $51,962 | 191% |
| Atlantic UniversityPR · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | $15,475 | — | — |
| Arizona State University Campus ImmersionAZ · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California College of the ArtsCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California Institute of the ArtsCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Clark UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| CUNY Hunter CollegeNY · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| DigiPen Institute of TechnologyWA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham CampusNJ · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| George Mason UniversityVA · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lynn UniversityFL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| New York Film AcademyCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Northeastern UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Ohio State University-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Pratt Institute-MainNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campusOffers: Digital Arts – 2-D Animation (BFA) · Digital Arts – 3-D Animation and Motion Arts (BFA) | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Southern California Institute of ArchitectureCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Southern Methodist UniversityTX · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| State University of New York at OswegoNY · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Southern CaliforniaCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State UniversityVA · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Rochester Institute of TechnologyNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsMaster’s degree · Not reportedOffers: Film and Animation (BFA) · 3D Visualization (Digital Design) (BFA)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Prepress/Desktop Publishing and Digital Imaging DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.
One thing these figures cannot tell you
Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Design and Digital Art” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. Full methodology.