Design & applied arts Master’s degree

122 programs — 22 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, ordered by median debt against median earnings — lowest first.

Data last updated

Specific program

Schools file the same degree under different federal codes — Berklee’s music production sits under “Music, Other”, Academy of Art’s under “Recording Arts”. These groups gather every code a program is actually filed under.

Hide for-profit colleges(5 programs)

Clear all filters

Design & applied arts Master’s degree ranked by debt-to-earnings ratio
InstitutionProgramcredential and deliveryat completion4 yrs after
Liberty UniversityVA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · Hybrid$30,991$112,93527%
Atlantic UniversityPR · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campus$16,220$37,42643%
The New SchoolNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignMaster’s degree · On campusOffers: Communication Design (Parsons) (BFA) · Illustration (Parsons) (BFA) · Design and Technology (Parsons) (BFA) · Integrated Design (Parsons) (BFA) · Photography (Parsons) (BFA)$42,587$86,47349%
Maryland Institute College of ArtMD · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · Hybrid$39,905$73,34854%
Full Sail UniversityFL · Private for-profitRequest information →Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · Fully onlineOffers: Audio Production (BS) · Music Production (BS) · Recording Arts (BS) · Live Event Production (BS) · Music Business (BS) · Film Production (BFA) · Game Design (BS) · Game Development (BS) · Computer Animation (BS) · Graphic Design (BS) · Digital Marketing (BS)$40,077$60,02367%
Arizona State University Campus ImmersionAZ · PublicRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignMaster’s degree · On campus$60,449$69,93086%
Arizona State University Digital ImmersionAZ · PublicRequest information →Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · Hybrid$60,449$69,93086%
George Washington UniversityDC · Private nonprofitRequest information →Interior DesignMaster’s degree · On campus$75,495$75,210100%
Savannah College of Art and DesignGA · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationMaster’s degree · Online or on campusOffers: Film and Television (BFA) · Animation (BFA) · Animation (MA/MFA) · Visual Effects (BFA) · Motion Media Design (BFA) · Illustration (BFA) · Illustration (MA/MFA) · Graphic Design (BA/BFA)$82,741$65,866126%
Marymount UniversityVA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Interior DesignMaster’s degree · On campus$95,211$69,957136%
Pratt Institute-MainNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusOffers: Game Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – 2-D Animation (BFA) · Digital Arts – 3-D Animation and Motion Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – Art and Technology (BFA) · Graphic Design (AOS)$123,755$82,883149%
Academy of Art UniversityCA · Private for-profitRequest information →IllustrationMaster’s degree · HybridOffers: Music Production and Sound Design for Visual Media (BFA) · Music Scoring and Composition (BFA) · Game Development (BFA) · Animation and Visual Effects (BFA) · Graphic Design (BFA) · Illustration (BFA) · Visual Development (BFA)$93,267$57,636162%
Bowling Green State University-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · Fully online—$48,570—
Carnegie Mellon UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus$64,233——
Cranbrook Academy of ArtMI · Private nonprofitRequest information →Industrial and Product DesignMaster’s degree · On campus$63,500——
Drexel UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campus—$80,986—
Illinois Institute of TechnologyIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campus—$144,324—
North Carolina State University at RaleighNC · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus—$60,289—
Rhode Island School of DesignRI · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationMaster’s degree · Not reported—$93,136—
School of Visual ArtsNY · Private for-profitRequest information →IllustrationMaster’s degree · On campusOffers: Animation (BFA) · 3D Animation and Visual Effects (BFA) · Design (BFA) · Illustration (BFA) · Cartooning (BFA) · Advertising (BFA) · Film (BFA) · Photography and Video (BFA)—$65,176—
University of BaltimoreMD · PublicRequest information →Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campus—$63,427—
Virginia Commonwealth UniversityVA · PublicRequest information →IllustrationMaster’s degree · On campus—$65,638—
American UniversityDC · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Art Center College of DesignCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Auburn UniversityAL · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Azusa Pacific UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Ball State UniversityIN · PublicRequest information →Interior DesignMaster’s degree · HybridNot reportedNot reported—
Bob Jones UniversitySC · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · Not reportedNot reportedNot reported—
Boise State UniversityID · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Boston UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Bradley UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Brigham Young UniversityUT · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
California Baptist UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · Not reportedNot reportedNot reported—
California College of the ArtsCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
California Institute of the ArtsCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · Not reportedNot reportedNot reported—
California State University-Long BeachCA · PublicRequest information →Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Central Connecticut State UniversityCT · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
College for Creative StudiesMI · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Columbia College ChicagoIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Columbus College of Art & DesignOH · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationMaster’s degree · Not reportedNot reportedNot reported—
DePaul UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Endicott CollegeMA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Fashion Institute of TechnologyNY · PublicRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignMaster’s degree · On campusOffers: Graphic Design (BFA) · Illustration (BFA) · Illustration (AAS) · Animation, Interactive Media and Game Design (BFA) · Communication Design Foundation (AAS) · Advertising and Marketing Communications (AAS) · Film and Media (AAS) · Photography and Related Media (AAS)Not reportedNot reported—
Ferris State UniversityMI · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Furman UniversitySC · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
George Mason UniversityVA · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Harvard UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Iowa State UniversityIA · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Jacksonville UniversityFL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
John Brown UniversityAR · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Kent State University at KentOH · PublicRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Kutztown University of PennsylvaniaPA · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtMaster’s degree · HybridNot reportedNot reported—
Laguna College of Art and DesignCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Lawrence Technological UniversityMI · Private nonprofitRequest information →Industrial and Product DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
LIM CollegeNY · Private for-profitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Lynn UniversityFL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · Not reportedNot reportedNot reported—
Marywood UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Massachusetts College of Art and DesignMA · PublicRequest information →IllustrationMaster’s degree · Not reportedNot reportedNot reported—
Miami University-OxfordOH · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Minneapolis College of Art and DesignMN · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationMaster’s degree · HybridNot reportedNot reported—
Mississippi CollegeMS · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Moore College of Art and DesignPA · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationMaster’s degree · Not reportedNot reportedNot reported—
New England CollegeNH · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Northeastern UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · Fully onlineNot reportedNot reported—
Northwestern UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Ohio State University-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information →Interior DesignMaster’s degree · Not reportedNot reportedNot reported—
Ohio University-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Otis College of Art and DesignCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Pacific Northwest College of ArtOR · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Paier CollegeCT · Private for-profitRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Pennsylvania State University-Main CampusPA · PublicRequest information →Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · Not reportedNot reportedNot reported—
Pennsylvania State University-World CampusPA · PublicRequest information →Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · HybridNot reportedNot reported—
Purdue University-Main CampusIN · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Queens University of CharlotteNC · Private nonprofitRequest information →Interior DesignMaster’s degree · Not reportedNot reportedNot reported—
Rochester Institute of TechnologyNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Industrial and Product DesignMaster’s degree · On campusOffers: Game Design and Development (BS) · Game Design and Development (MS) · Film and Animation (BFA) · Motion Picture Science (BS) · 3D Visualization (Digital Design) (BFA) · New Media Design (BFA) · Graphic Design (BFA)Not reportedNot reported—
Rutgers University-New BrunswickNJ · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
San Francisco State UniversityCA · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
School of the Art Institute of ChicagoIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Southeastern UniversityFL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Southern Adventist UniversityTN · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusOffers: Film Production (BFA) · Animation (BFA) · Media Production (BS) · Photography (BFA) · Advertising (BS) · Public Relations (BS) · Broadcast Journalism (BS)Not reportedNot reported—
Suffolk UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Syracuse UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Temple UniversityPA · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Texas State UniversityTX · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
The University of Texas at AustinTX · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Thomas Jefferson UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University at BuffaloNY · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of ArkansasAR · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of California-BerkeleyCA · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of California-Los AngelesCA · PublicRequest information →Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of Central FloridaFL · PublicRequest information →Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of Central OklahomaOK · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · Fully onlineNot reportedNot reported—
University of ChicagoIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of Cincinnati-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of DelawareDE · PublicRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of DenverCO · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of FloridaFL · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of HartfordCT · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of HoustonTX · PublicRequest information →Industrial and Product DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of Illinois ChicagoIL · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of KansasKS · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of KentuckyKY · PublicRequest information →Interior DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of Maryland-Baltimore CountyMD · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of Massachusetts-DartmouthMA · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of Minnesota-Twin CitiesMN · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of North TexasTX · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of Notre DameIN · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of Oklahoma-Norman CampusOK · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · HybridNot reportedNot reported—
University of OregonOR · PublicRequest information →Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of PennsylvaniaPA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of Southern CaliforniaCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of the ArtsPA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of the Incarnate WordTX · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of Washington-Seattle CampusWA · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
University of Wisconsin-StoutWI · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Vermont College of Fine ArtsVT · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · Fully onlineNot reportedNot reported—
Washington State UniversityWA · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Washington University in St LouisMO · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
West Virginia UniversityWV · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · Not reportedNot reportedNot reported—
Wichita State UniversityKS · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Winthrop UniversitySC · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Yale UniversityCT · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—

Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)

How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.

One thing these figures cannot tell you

Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Design & applied arts” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. Full methodology.