Game Design programs

514 programs — 129 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, ordered by median debt against median earnings — lowest first.

Data last updated

Specific program

Schools file the same degree under different federal codes — Berklee’s music production sits under “Music, Other”, Academy of Art’s under “Recording Arts”. These groups gather every code a program is actually filed under.

Hide for-profit colleges(41 programs)
Game Design programs ranked by debt-to-earnings ratio
InstitutionProgramcredential and deliveryat completion4 yrs after
University of Michigan-Ann ArborMI · PublicRequest information →Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus$19,230$162,11412%
Brigham Young University-IdahoID · Private nonprofitRequest information →Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$9,312$65,39714%
Atlantic UniversityPR · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · On campus$4,049$21,30919%
Cuyahoga Community College DistrictOH · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignAssociate degree · Hybrid$6,000$30,93619%
Stark State CollegeOH · PublicRequest information →Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignAssociate degree · Hybrid$6,699$34,51819%
Johnson County Community CollegeKS · PublicRequest information →Interior DesignAssociate degree · On campus$9,341$48,08419%
University of Southern CaliforniaCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campus$18,000$89,02220%
DigiPen Institute of TechnologyWA · Private for-profitRequest information →Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,924$122,37522%
Utah Valley UniversityUT · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campus$12,500$55,72822%
New England Institute of TechnologyRI · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer Programming/Programmer, GeneralAssociate degree · On campus$16,166$70,62823%
Wake Technical Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · Hybrid$10,084$41,85724%
New England Institute of TechnologyRI · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignAssociate degree · On campus$12,000$44,31327%
University of Wisconsin-MadisonWI · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$17,875$65,87427%
Academy of Interactive EntertainmentWA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsUndergraduate certificate · Hybrid$12,000$42,55428%
Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Carolina CampusPR · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsUndergraduate certificate · On campus$5,044$17,76728%
Rensselaer Polytechnic InstituteNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$25,000$87,35829%
Rochester Institute of TechnologyNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campusOffers: Game Design and Development (BS) · Game Design and Development (MS) · Film and Animation (BFA) · Motion Picture Science (BS) · 3D Visualization (Digital Design) (BFA) · New Media Design (BFA) · Graphic Design (BFA)$27,000$88,09631%
New England Institute of TechnologyRI · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer Programming/Programmer, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campus$35,500$114,96331%
University of California-IrvineCA · PublicRequest information →Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus$21,800$69,98131%
Wilmington UniversityDE · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · Hybrid$16,516$50,72233%
Texas A & M University-College StationTX · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · On campus$19,739$59,76933%
GnomonCA · Private for-profitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campus$34,416$104,15133%
Valencia CollegeFL · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campus$15,280$46,23033%
Purdue University-Main CampusIN · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · On campus$20,101$59,76634%
Arapahoe Community CollegeCO · PublicRequest information →Interior DesignAssociate degree · On campus$15,125$44,88834%
Robert Morris UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationMaster’s degree · Fully online$33,016$96,98934%
University of Wisconsin-StoutWI · PublicRequest information →Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus$25,500$74,14634%
Guilford Technical Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtAssociate degree · Online or on campus$11,708$33,52135%
University of Southern CaliforniaCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Data Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationMaster’s degree · Hybrid$63,625$179,05536%
Kennesaw State UniversityGA · PublicRequest information →Computer Game ProgrammingBachelor’s degree · Hybrid$24,862$67,43737%
Indiana University-BloomingtonIN · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusOffers: Audio Engineering and Sound Production (BS) · Music Production – Audio Engineering (BS) · Music Production – Creation and Production (BS) · Performance (BM) · Jazz Studies (BM) · Composition (BM) · Music Education (BME) · Music and an Outside Field (BS)$20,500$54,63038%
Southern New Hampshire UniversityNH · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · HybridOffers: Marketing (BS) · Business Administration (BS) · Project Management (BS) · Communication (BA) · Information Technology (BS) · Cybersecurity (BS) · Computer Science (BS) · Data Analytics (BS)$21,771$57,77238%
University of Advancing TechnologyAZ · Private for-profitRequest information →Computer Game ProgrammingBachelor’s degree · Hybrid$27,500$72,46238%
Laguna College of Art and DesignCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$68,93439%
School of Visual ArtsNY · Private for-profitRequest information →Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusOffers: Animation (BFA) · 3D Animation and Visual Effects (BFA) · Design (BFA) · Illustration (BFA) · Cartooning (BFA) · Advertising (BFA) · Film (BFA) · Photography and Video (BFA)$27,000$67,48340%
Marist CollegeNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,644$66,01040%
California State University-ChicoCA · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$18,227$44,62941%
Quinnipiac UniversityCT · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,000$61,41942%
St. John's University-New YorkNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$63,65942%
Woodbury UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$62,09243%
Pratt Institute-MainNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusOffers: Game Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – 2-D Animation (BFA) · Digital Arts – 3-D Animation and Motion Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – Art and Technology (BFA) · Graphic Design (AOS)$26,000$59,79243%
University of HoustonTX · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · On campus$22,500$51,59644%
West Virginia UniversityWV · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campus$25,000$55,66945%
University of Wisconsin-StoutWI · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,000$57,71845%
Pratt Institute-MainNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignAssociate degree · On campusOffers: Game Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – 2-D Animation (BFA) · Digital Arts – 3-D Animation and Motion Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – Art and Technology (BFA) · Graphic Design (AOS)$12,000$26,55745%
University of Silicon ValleyCA · Private for-profitRequest information →Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · Hybrid$31,000$67,65946%
Gwinnett Technical CollegeGA · PublicRequest information →Interior DesignAssociate degree · On campus$14,482$31,34346%
Louisiana Tech UniversityLA · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$19,868$41,53448%
Saint Edward's UniversityTX · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,000$54,29748%
DePaul UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$55,21349%
Champlain CollegeVT · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,870$54,56149%
Pittsburgh Technical CollegePA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignAssociate degree · Online or on campus$18,122$36,20750%
Academy of Art UniversityCA · Private for-profitRequest information →Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignBachelor’s degree · HybridOffers: Music Production and Sound Design for Visual Media (BFA) · Music Scoring and Composition (BFA) · Game Development (BFA) · Animation and Visual Effects (BFA) · Graphic Design (BFA) · Illustration (BFA) · Visual Development (BFA)$36,750$73,39850%
Cornish College of the ArtsWA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$53,77350%
Columbia College ChicagoIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$24,500$48,60150%
Michigan State UniversityMI · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,997$53,25051%
Quinsigamond Community CollegeMA · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campus$19,235$37,81451%
Grand View UniversityIA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$21,502$41,94451%
Academy of Art UniversityCA · Private for-profitRequest information →Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignAssociate degree · HybridOffers: Music Production and Sound Design for Visual Media (BFA) · Music Scoring and Composition (BFA) · Game Development (BFA) · Animation and Visual Effects (BFA) · Graphic Design (BFA) · Illustration (BFA) · Visual Development (BFA)$31,211$60,73151%
Lindenwood UniversityMO · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · Online or on campus$23,804$45,81052%
Albright CollegePA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$51,50752%
Johnson & Wales University-ProvidenceRI · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$50,37454%
Pennsylvania College of TechnologyPA · PublicRequest information →Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,970$51,76454%
Maryland Institute College of ArtMD · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · Hybrid$39,905$73,34854%
Ohio University-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$49,55354%
University of the Incarnate WordTX · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · Online or on campus$27,000$48,47256%
Columbus College of Art & DesignOH · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$48,20456%
Cleveland Institute of ArtOH · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$47,14757%
William Peace UniversityNC · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$24,000$40,81759%
Maryland Institute College of ArtMD · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Applied Arts, OtherBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,842$45,43659%
Fitchburg State UniversityMA · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · Fully online$26,000$42,94661%
Webster UniversityMO · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$24,500$40,39761%
Boise State UniversityID · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,618$42,52763%
Dakota State UniversitySD · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$42,51364%
Rocky Mountain College of Art and DesignCO · Private for-profitRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · Hybrid$31,000$48,47264%
University of Saint Francis-Fort WayneIN · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,000$40,61964%
New England Institute of TechnologyRI · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$28,785$43,88666%
University of Advancing TechnologyAZ · Private for-profitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · Hybrid$27,000$38,99669%
Pennsylvania College of Art and DesignPA · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationBachelor’s degree · Hybrid$27,000$38,27571%
University of the ArtsPA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$37,97771%
Sullivan UniversityKY · Private for-profitRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campus$24,962$34,00973%
Southern Arkansas University Main CampusAR · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$25,559$33,64976%
Rocky Mountain College of Art and DesignCO · Private for-profitRequest information →IllustrationBachelor’s degree · Hybrid$31,750$41,61776%
Academy of Art UniversityCA · Private for-profitRequest information →Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignMaster’s degree · HybridOffers: Music Production and Sound Design for Visual Media (BFA) · Music Scoring and Composition (BFA) · Game Development (BFA) · Animation and Visual Effects (BFA) · Graphic Design (BFA) · Illustration (BFA) · Visual Development (BFA)$71,352$87,99881%
Keiser University-Ft LauderdaleFL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralAssociate degree · On campus$24,486$29,28084%
Arkansas Tech UniversityAR · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$28,950$32,96088%
University of Silicon ValleyCA · Private for-profitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · Hybrid$31,000$33,59692%
Carnegie Mellon UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsMaster’s degree · On campus$111,064$113,58698%
Pratt Institute-MainNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusOffers: Game Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – 2-D Animation (BFA) · Digital Arts – 3-D Animation and Motion Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – Art and Technology (BFA) · Graphic Design (AOS)$123,755$82,883149%
Academy of Interactive EntertainmentLA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsUndergraduate certificate · On campus—$32,664—
Arkansas State UniversityAR · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus—$39,897—
Baker CollegeMI · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer Programming/Programmer, GeneralAssociate degree · Not reported—$64,120—
Bradley UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus—$60,888—
Central Piedmont Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignAssociate degree · Online or on campus—$47,967—
Central Piedmont Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · Fully online—$39,933—
Champlain CollegeVT · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer Programming/Programmer, GeneralUndergraduate certificate · Hybrid—$101,091—
Collin County Community College DistrictTX · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignAssociate degree · On campus—$40,300—
Columbus State Community CollegeOH · PublicRequest information →Commercial PhotographyUndergraduate certificate · Online or on campus—$50,921—
Columbus State Community CollegeOH · PublicRequest information →Commercial PhotographyAssociate degree · Hybrid—$34,540—
Connecticut State Community CollegeCT · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtAssociate degree · On campus—$34,324—
CUNY Hostos Community CollegeNY · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignAssociate degree · On campus—$30,848—
Fayetteville Technical Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtUndergraduate certificate · On campus—$24,406—
Guilford Technical Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtUndergraduate certificate · Online or on campus—$35,628—
High Point UniversityNC · Private nonprofitRequest information →Interior DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus—$61,635—
Indian River State CollegeFL · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campus—$43,997—
Ivy Tech Community CollegeIN · PublicRequest information →Data Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationAssociate degree · Fully online—$63,953—
Lehigh Carbon Community CollegePA · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignAssociate degree · On campus—$36,208—
Luzerne County Community CollegePA · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campus—$36,875—
Milwaukee Area Technical CollegeWI · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignUndergraduate certificate · Hybrid—$40,366—
Milwaukee Area Technical CollegeWI · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignAssociate degree · Hybrid—$33,449—
Montgomery CollegeMD · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtAssociate degree · On campus—$32,319—
New England CollegeNH · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationBachelor’s degree · On campus—$42,056—
NUC UniversityPR · Private for-profitRequest information →Graphic DesignUndergraduate certificate · Fully online—$18,438—
Palm Beach State CollegeFL · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campus—$48,988—
Pima Community CollegeAZ · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignAssociate degree · On campus—$30,813—
Purdue University NorthwestIN · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · On campus—$29,630—
Rowan College of South Jersey-Cumberland CampusNJ · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campus—$33,043—
Rowan College of South Jersey-Gloucester CampusNJ · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campus—$33,043—
Samford UniversityAL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Interior DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$23,250——
Santa Fe CollegeFL · PublicRequest information →Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignAssociate degree · On campus—$40,794—
Texas A & M University-College StationTX · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsMaster’s degree · On campus—$84,637—
University of California-Santa CruzCA · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus—$66,333—
University of DenverCO · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus—$69,251—
University of DubuqueIA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · On campus—$46,296—
University of Southern CaliforniaCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Data Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationBachelor’s degree · On campus—$115,839—
Villa Maria CollegeNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Interior DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus—$48,379—
Wake Technical Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignAssociate degree · Hybrid—$41,986—
Wayne Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campus—$36,502—
Wilmington UniversityDE · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer Game ProgrammingBachelor’s degree · Hybrid—$45,832—
ABC Adult SchoolCA · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Academy of Art UniversityCA · Private for-profitRequest information →Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignUndergraduate certificate · HybridOffers: Music Production and Sound Design for Visual Media (BFA) · Music Scoring and Composition (BFA) · Game Development (BFA) · Animation and Visual Effects (BFA) · Graphic Design (BFA) · Illustration (BFA) · Visual Development (BFA)Not reportedNot reported—
Academy of Interactive EntertainmentWA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · HybridNot reportedNot reported—
Academy of Interactive EntertainmentLA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Ace Institute of TechnologyNY · Private for-profitRequest information →Computer GraphicsUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
American River CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Data Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationUndergraduate certificate · Fully onlineNot reportedNot reported—
American River CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Data Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationAssociate degree · Fully onlineNot reportedNot reported—
American UniversityDC · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
American UniversityDC · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Antelope Valley Community College DistrictCA · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Antelope Valley Community College DistrictCA · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Arapahoe Community CollegeCO · PublicRequest information →Interior DesignUndergraduate certificate · HybridNot reportedNot reported—
Arizona Western CollegeAZ · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Arkansas State UniversityAR · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · HybridNot reportedNot reported—
Atlantic UniversityPR · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · Not reportedNot reportedNot reported—
Augsburg UniversityMN · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Augsburg UniversityMN · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Azusa Pacific UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Azusa Pacific UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Baker CollegeMI · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer Programming/Programmer, GeneralBachelor’s degree · HybridNot reportedNot reported—
Bellevue CollegeWA · PublicRequest information →Data Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—

Showing 150 of 514 programs, lowest debt-to-earnings first. Sorting reorders these 150; narrow the filters to bring the rest into view.

Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)

How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.

One thing these figures cannot tell you

Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Game Design” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. Full methodology.