On-campus Game Design programs

397 programs — 91 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, ordered by median debt against median earnings — lowest first.

Data last updated

Specific program

Schools file the same degree under different federal codes — Berklee’s music production sits under “Music, Other”, Academy of Art’s under “Recording Arts”. These groups gather every code a program is actually filed under.

Hide for-profit colleges(20 programs)

Clear all filters

On-campus Game Design programs ranked by debt-to-earnings ratio
InstitutionProgramcredential and deliveryat completion4 yrs after
University of Michigan-Ann ArborMI · PublicRequest information →Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus$19,230$162,11412%
Brigham Young University-IdahoID · Private nonprofitRequest information →Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$9,312$65,39714%
Atlantic UniversityPR · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · On campus$4,049$21,30919%
Johnson County Community CollegeKS · PublicRequest information →Interior DesignAssociate degree · On campus$9,341$48,08419%
University of Southern CaliforniaCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campus$18,000$89,02220%
DigiPen Institute of TechnologyWA · Private for-profitRequest information →Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,924$122,37522%
Utah Valley UniversityUT · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campus$12,500$55,72822%
New England Institute of TechnologyRI · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer Programming/Programmer, GeneralAssociate degree · On campus$16,166$70,62823%
New England Institute of TechnologyRI · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignAssociate degree · On campus$12,000$44,31327%
University of Wisconsin-MadisonWI · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$17,875$65,87427%
Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Carolina CampusPR · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsUndergraduate certificate · On campus$5,044$17,76728%
Rensselaer Polytechnic InstituteNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$25,000$87,35829%
Rochester Institute of TechnologyNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campusOffers: Game Design and Development (BS) · Game Design and Development (MS) · Film and Animation (BFA) · Motion Picture Science (BS) · 3D Visualization (Digital Design) (BFA) · New Media Design (BFA) · Graphic Design (BFA)$27,000$88,09631%
New England Institute of TechnologyRI · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer Programming/Programmer, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campus$35,500$114,96331%
University of California-IrvineCA · PublicRequest information →Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus$21,800$69,98131%
Texas A & M University-College StationTX · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · On campus$19,739$59,76933%
GnomonCA · Private for-profitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campus$34,416$104,15133%
Valencia CollegeFL · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campus$15,280$46,23033%
Purdue University-Main CampusIN · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · On campus$20,101$59,76634%
Arapahoe Community CollegeCO · PublicRequest information →Interior DesignAssociate degree · On campus$15,125$44,88834%
University of Wisconsin-StoutWI · PublicRequest information →Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus$25,500$74,14634%
Indiana University-BloomingtonIN · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusOffers: Audio Engineering and Sound Production (BS) · Music Production – Audio Engineering (BS) · Music Production – Creation and Production (BS) · Performance (BM) · Jazz Studies (BM) · Composition (BM) · Music Education (BME) · Music and an Outside Field (BS)$20,500$54,63038%
Laguna College of Art and DesignCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$68,93439%
School of Visual ArtsNY · Private for-profitRequest information →Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusOffers: Animation (BFA) · 3D Animation and Visual Effects (BFA) · Design (BFA) · Illustration (BFA) · Cartooning (BFA) · Advertising (BFA) · Film (BFA) · Photography and Video (BFA)$27,000$67,48340%
Marist CollegeNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,644$66,01040%
California State University-ChicoCA · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$18,227$44,62941%
Quinnipiac UniversityCT · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,000$61,41942%
St. John's University-New YorkNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$63,65942%
Woodbury UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$62,09243%
Pratt Institute-MainNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusOffers: Game Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – 2-D Animation (BFA) · Digital Arts – 3-D Animation and Motion Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – Art and Technology (BFA) · Graphic Design (AOS)$26,000$59,79243%
University of HoustonTX · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · On campus$22,500$51,59644%
West Virginia UniversityWV · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campus$25,000$55,66945%
University of Wisconsin-StoutWI · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,000$57,71845%
Pratt Institute-MainNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignAssociate degree · On campusOffers: Game Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – 2-D Animation (BFA) · Digital Arts – 3-D Animation and Motion Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – Art and Technology (BFA) · Graphic Design (AOS)$12,000$26,55745%
Gwinnett Technical CollegeGA · PublicRequest information →Interior DesignAssociate degree · On campus$14,482$31,34346%
Louisiana Tech UniversityLA · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$19,868$41,53448%
Saint Edward's UniversityTX · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,000$54,29748%
DePaul UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$55,21349%
Champlain CollegeVT · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,870$54,56149%
Cornish College of the ArtsWA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$53,77350%
Columbia College ChicagoIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$24,500$48,60150%
Michigan State UniversityMI · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,997$53,25051%
Quinsigamond Community CollegeMA · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campus$19,235$37,81451%
Grand View UniversityIA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$21,502$41,94451%
Albright CollegePA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$51,50752%
Johnson & Wales University-ProvidenceRI · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$50,37454%
Pennsylvania College of TechnologyPA · PublicRequest information →Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,970$51,76454%
Ohio University-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$49,55354%
Columbus College of Art & DesignOH · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$48,20456%
Cleveland Institute of ArtOH · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$47,14757%
William Peace UniversityNC · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$24,000$40,81759%
Maryland Institute College of ArtMD · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Applied Arts, OtherBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,842$45,43659%
Webster UniversityMO · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$24,500$40,39761%
Boise State UniversityID · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,618$42,52763%
Dakota State UniversitySD · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$42,51364%
University of Saint Francis-Fort WayneIN · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,000$40,61964%
New England Institute of TechnologyRI · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$28,785$43,88666%
University of the ArtsPA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$37,97771%
Sullivan UniversityKY · Private for-profitRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campus$24,962$34,00973%
Southern Arkansas University Main CampusAR · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$25,559$33,64976%
Keiser University-Ft LauderdaleFL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralAssociate degree · On campus$24,486$29,28084%
Arkansas Tech UniversityAR · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$28,950$32,96088%
Carnegie Mellon UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsMaster’s degree · On campus$111,064$113,58698%
Pratt Institute-MainNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusOffers: Game Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – 2-D Animation (BFA) · Digital Arts – 3-D Animation and Motion Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – Art and Technology (BFA) · Graphic Design (AOS)$123,755$82,883149%
Academy of Interactive EntertainmentLA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsUndergraduate certificate · On campus—$32,664—
Arkansas State UniversityAR · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus—$39,897—
Bradley UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus—$60,888—
Collin County Community College DistrictTX · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignAssociate degree · On campus—$40,300—
Connecticut State Community CollegeCT · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtAssociate degree · On campus—$34,324—
CUNY Hostos Community CollegeNY · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignAssociate degree · On campus—$30,848—
Fayetteville Technical Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtUndergraduate certificate · On campus—$24,406—
High Point UniversityNC · Private nonprofitRequest information →Interior DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus—$61,635—
Indian River State CollegeFL · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campus—$43,997—
Lehigh Carbon Community CollegePA · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignAssociate degree · On campus—$36,208—
Luzerne County Community CollegePA · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campus—$36,875—
Montgomery CollegeMD · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtAssociate degree · On campus—$32,319—
New England CollegeNH · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationBachelor’s degree · On campus—$42,056—
Palm Beach State CollegeFL · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campus—$48,988—
Pima Community CollegeAZ · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignAssociate degree · On campus—$30,813—
Purdue University NorthwestIN · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · On campus—$29,630—
Rowan College of South Jersey-Cumberland CampusNJ · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campus—$33,043—
Rowan College of South Jersey-Gloucester CampusNJ · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campus—$33,043—
Samford UniversityAL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Interior DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$23,250——
Santa Fe CollegeFL · PublicRequest information →Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignAssociate degree · On campus—$40,794—
Texas A & M University-College StationTX · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsMaster’s degree · On campus—$84,637—
University of California-Santa CruzCA · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus—$66,333—
University of DenverCO · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus—$69,251—
University of DubuqueIA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · On campus—$46,296—
University of Southern CaliforniaCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Data Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationBachelor’s degree · On campus—$115,839—
Villa Maria CollegeNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Interior DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus—$48,379—
Wayne Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campus—$36,502—
ABC Adult SchoolCA · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Academy of Interactive EntertainmentLA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Ace Institute of TechnologyNY · Private for-profitRequest information →Computer GraphicsUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
American UniversityDC · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
American UniversityDC · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Antelope Valley Community College DistrictCA · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Antelope Valley Community College DistrictCA · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Arizona Western CollegeAZ · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Augsburg UniversityMN · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Augsburg UniversityMN · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Azusa Pacific UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Azusa Pacific UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Bellevue CollegeWA · PublicRequest information →Data Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Bellevue CollegeWA · PublicRequest information →Data Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Bellevue CollegeWA · PublicRequest information →Data Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Bergen Community CollegeNJ · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Berkeley City CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Berkeley City CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Berkeley City CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Bethany CollegeKS · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Biola UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Boise State UniversityID · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Bradley UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Brigham Young UniversityUT · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Brigham Young University-IdahoID · Private nonprofitRequest information →Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Brookdale Community CollegeNJ · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Brookdale Community CollegeNJ · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Butler Community CollegeKS · PublicRequest information →Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Butler Community CollegeKS · PublicRequest information →Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Caddo Kiowa Technology CenterOK · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
California College of the ArtsCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
California Institute of the ArtsCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
California Institute of the ArtsCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Carnegie Mellon UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer GraphicsBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Carroll Community CollegeMD · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Carroll Community CollegeMD · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Cayuga County Community CollegeNY · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Central Ohio Technical CollegeOH · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Central Ohio Technical CollegeOH · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Chabot CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Chabot CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Chaffey CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Chaffey CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Citrus CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Citrus CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
City College of San FranciscoCA · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
College of Central FloridaFL · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
College of Central FloridaFL · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
College of Our Lady of the ElmsMA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Computer Software and Media Applications, OtherBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Collin County Community College DistrictTX · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Columbia College ChicagoIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Columbia-Greene Community CollegeNY · PublicRequest information →Computer GraphicsUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Commonwealth University of PennsylvaniaPA · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Connecticut State Community CollegeCT · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Cypress CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Data Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
DePaul UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Diablo Valley CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Diablo Valley CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
DigiPen Institute of TechnologyWA · Private for-profitRequest information →Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—

Showing 150 of 397 programs, lowest debt-to-earnings first. Sorting reorders these 150; narrow the filters to bring the rest into view.

Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)

How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.

One thing these figures cannot tell you

Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Game Design” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. Full methodology.