Game Design programs
58 programs — 18 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, led by institutions where this is the main program rather than one of many. Federal figures cover the wider program family, so a row may share its numbers with related degrees.
Data last updated
Specific program
Schools file the same degree under different federal codes — Berklee’s music production sits under “Music, Other”, Academy of Art’s under “Recording Arts”. These groups gather every code a program is actually filed under.
Delivery
| Institution | Programcredential and delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Michigan-Ann ArborMI · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus | $19,230 | $162,114 | 12% |
| DigiPen Institute of TechnologyWA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus | $26,924 | $122,375 | 22% |
| University of California-IrvineCA · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus | $21,800 | $69,981 | 31% |
| Robert Morris UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationMaster’s degree · Fully online | $33,016 | $96,989 | 34% |
| University of Wisconsin-StoutWI · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus | $25,500 | $74,146 | 34% |
| University of Silicon ValleyCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · Hybrid | $31,000 | $67,659 | 46% |
| Rochester Institute of TechnologyNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Data Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $27,000 | $88,096 | 31% |
| Pennsylvania College of TechnologyPA · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $27,970 | $51,764 | 54% |
| University of Southern CaliforniaCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationMaster’s degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Data Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $63,625 | $179,055 | 36% |
| University of Southern CaliforniaCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Data Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $115,839 | — |
| Academy of Interactive EntertainmentLA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Computer GraphicsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $32,664 | — |
| Brigham Young University-IdahoID · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $9,312 | $65,397 | 14% |
| Academy of Art UniversityCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignComputer GraphicsComputer Software and Media Applications, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $36,750 | $73,398 | 50% |
| Academy of Art UniversityCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationAssociate degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignComputer GraphicsComputer Software and Media Applications, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $31,211 | $60,731 | 51% |
| Academy of Art UniversityCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationMaster’s degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignComputer GraphicsComputer Software and Media Applications, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $71,352 | $87,998 | 81% |
| Academy of Interactive EntertainmentWA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Computer GraphicsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $12,000 | $42,554 | 28% |
| Purdue University NorthwestIN · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Computer GraphicsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $29,630 | — |
| Carnegie Mellon UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Computer GraphicsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $111,064 | $113,586 | 98% |
| Butler Community CollegeKS · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Butler Community CollegeKS · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationAssociate degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| DigiPen Institute of TechnologyWA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lawrence Technological UniversityMI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lawrence Technological UniversityMI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical CollegeLA · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Mississippi Gulf Coast Community CollegeMS · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Mississippi Gulf Coast Community CollegeMS · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationAssociate degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Montclair State UniversityNJ · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Naval Postgraduate SchoolCA · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Orange Technical College-South CampusFL · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Rider UniversityNJ · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Robert Morris UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Robert Morris UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Shenandoah UniversityVA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Thomas Jefferson UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Advancing TechnologyAZ · Private for-profitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationAssociate degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Advancing TechnologyAZ · Private for-profitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of California-IrvineCA · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of California-Santa CruzCA · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of California-Santa CruzCA · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Colorado Colorado SpringsCO · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Houston-VictoriaTX · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Michigan-Ann ArborMI · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of TulsaOK · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Rochester Institute of TechnologyNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Data Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Neumont College of Computer ScienceUT · Private for-profitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Cincinnati-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Data Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationWeb Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Cincinnati-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Data Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationWeb Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California Institute of the ArtsCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Computer Software and Media Applications, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California Institute of the ArtsCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Computer Software and Media Applications, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Academy of Interactive EntertainmentLA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationAssociate degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Computer GraphicsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Brigham Young University-IdahoID · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationAssociate degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Academy of Art UniversityCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignComputer GraphicsComputer Software and Media Applications, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Eastern Iowa Community College DistrictIA · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignData Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Eastern Iowa Community College DistrictIA · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationAssociate degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignData Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Riverland Community CollegeMN · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Riverland Community CollegeMN · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationAssociate degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Purdue University NorthwestIN · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Computer GraphicsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Carnegie Mellon UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationBachelor’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Computer GraphicsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.
One thing these figures cannot tell you
Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Game Design” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. Full methodology.