Design & applied arts programs

237 programs — 78 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, ordered by median debt against median earnings — lowest first.

Data last updated

Hide for-profit colleges(12 programs)

Clear all filters

Design & applied arts programs ranked by debt-to-earnings ratio
InstitutionProgramcredential and deliveryat completion4 yrs after
Cuyahoga Community College DistrictOH · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignAssociate degree · Hybrid$6,000$30,93619%
Johnson County Community CollegeKS · PublicRequest information →Interior DesignAssociate degree · On campus$9,341$48,08419%
University of Southern CaliforniaCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campus$18,000$89,02220%
Utah Valley UniversityUT · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campus$12,500$55,72822%
Wake Technical Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · Hybrid$10,084$41,85724%
New England Institute of TechnologyRI · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignAssociate degree · On campus$12,000$44,31327%
University of Wisconsin-MadisonWI · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$17,875$65,87427%
Rensselaer Polytechnic InstituteNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$25,000$87,35829%
GnomonCA · Private for-profitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campus$34,416$104,15133%
Arapahoe Community CollegeCO · PublicRequest information →Interior DesignAssociate degree · On campus$15,125$44,88834%
Guilford Technical Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtAssociate degree · Online or on campus$11,708$33,52135%
Indiana University-BloomingtonIN · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusOffers: Audio Engineering and Sound Production (BS) · Music Production – Audio Engineering (BS) · Music Production – Creation and Production (BS) · Performance (BM) · Jazz Studies (BM) · Composition (BM) · Music Education (BME) · Music and an Outside Field (BS)$20,500$54,63038%
Laguna College of Art and DesignCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$68,93439%
Marist CollegeNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,644$66,01040%
California State University-ChicoCA · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$18,227$44,62941%
Quinnipiac UniversityCT · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,000$61,41942%
St. John's University-New YorkNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$63,65942%
Woodbury UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$62,09243%
Pratt Institute-MainNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusOffers: Game Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – 2-D Animation (BFA) · Digital Arts – 3-D Animation and Motion Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – Art and Technology (BFA) · Graphic Design (AOS)$26,000$59,79243%
West Virginia UniversityWV · PublicRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campus$25,000$55,66945%
University of Wisconsin-StoutWI · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,000$57,71845%
Pratt Institute-MainNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignAssociate degree · On campusOffers: Game Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – 2-D Animation (BFA) · Digital Arts – 3-D Animation and Motion Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – Art and Technology (BFA) · Graphic Design (AOS)$12,000$26,55745%
Gwinnett Technical CollegeGA · PublicRequest information →Interior DesignAssociate degree · On campus$14,482$31,34346%
Louisiana Tech UniversityLA · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$19,868$41,53448%
Saint Edward's UniversityTX · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,000$54,29748%
DePaul UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$55,21349%
Champlain CollegeVT · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,870$54,56149%
Cornish College of the ArtsWA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$53,77350%
Columbia College ChicagoIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$24,500$48,60150%
Michigan State UniversityMI · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,997$53,25051%
Grand View UniversityIA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$21,502$41,94451%
Albright CollegePA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$51,50752%
Maryland Institute College of ArtMD · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · Hybrid$39,905$73,34854%
Ohio University-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$49,55354%
University of the Incarnate WordTX · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · Online or on campus$27,000$48,47256%
Columbus College of Art & DesignOH · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$48,20456%
Cleveland Institute of ArtOH · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$47,14757%
William Peace UniversityNC · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$24,000$40,81759%
Maryland Institute College of ArtMD · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Applied Arts, OtherBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,842$45,43659%
Fitchburg State UniversityMA · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · Fully online$26,000$42,94661%
Webster UniversityMO · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$24,500$40,39761%
Boise State UniversityID · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,618$42,52763%
University of Saint Francis-Fort WayneIN · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campus$26,000$40,61964%
New England Institute of TechnologyRI · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$28,785$43,88666%
University of Advancing TechnologyAZ · Private for-profitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · Hybrid$27,000$38,99669%
Pennsylvania College of Art and DesignPA · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationBachelor’s degree · Hybrid$27,000$38,27571%
University of the ArtsPA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$27,000$37,97771%
Southern Arkansas University Main CampusAR · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$25,559$33,64976%
Rocky Mountain College of Art and DesignCO · Private for-profitRequest information →IllustrationBachelor’s degree · Hybrid$31,750$41,61776%
Keiser University-Ft LauderdaleFL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralAssociate degree · On campus$24,486$29,28084%
Arkansas Tech UniversityAR · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$28,950$32,96088%
University of Silicon ValleyCA · Private for-profitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · Hybrid$31,000$33,59692%
Pratt Institute-MainNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusOffers: Game Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – 2-D Animation (BFA) · Digital Arts – 3-D Animation and Motion Arts (BFA) · Digital Arts – Art and Technology (BFA) · Graphic Design (AOS)$123,755$82,883149%
Arkansas State UniversityAR · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus—$39,897—
Bradley UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus—$60,888—
Central Piedmont Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignAssociate degree · Online or on campus—$47,967—
Central Piedmont Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · Fully online—$39,933—
Collin County Community College DistrictTX · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignAssociate degree · On campus—$40,300—
Columbus State Community CollegeOH · PublicRequest information →Commercial PhotographyUndergraduate certificate · Online or on campus—$50,921—
Columbus State Community CollegeOH · PublicRequest information →Commercial PhotographyAssociate degree · Hybrid—$34,540—
Connecticut State Community CollegeCT · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtAssociate degree · On campus—$34,324—
CUNY Hostos Community CollegeNY · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignAssociate degree · On campus—$30,848—
Fayetteville Technical Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtUndergraduate certificate · On campus—$24,406—
Guilford Technical Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtUndergraduate certificate · Online or on campus—$35,628—
High Point UniversityNC · Private nonprofitRequest information →Interior DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus—$61,635—
Lehigh Carbon Community CollegePA · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignAssociate degree · On campus—$36,208—
Milwaukee Area Technical CollegeWI · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignUndergraduate certificate · Hybrid—$40,366—
Milwaukee Area Technical CollegeWI · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignAssociate degree · Hybrid—$33,449—
Montgomery CollegeMD · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtAssociate degree · On campus—$32,319—
New England CollegeNH · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationBachelor’s degree · On campus—$42,056—
NUC UniversityPR · Private for-profitRequest information →Graphic DesignUndergraduate certificate · Fully online—$18,438—
Pima Community CollegeAZ · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignAssociate degree · On campus—$30,813—
Samford UniversityAL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Interior DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus$23,250——
University of California-Santa CruzCA · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus—$66,333—
University of DenverCO · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus—$69,251—
Villa Maria CollegeNY · Private nonprofitRequest information →Interior DesignBachelor’s degree · On campus—$48,379—
Wake Technical Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignAssociate degree · Hybrid—$41,986—
Wayne Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campus—$36,502—
Academy of Interactive EntertainmentWA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · HybridNot reportedNot reported—
American UniversityDC · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
American UniversityDC · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Arapahoe Community CollegeCO · PublicRequest information →Interior DesignUndergraduate certificate · HybridNot reportedNot reported—
Arkansas State UniversityAR · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · HybridNot reportedNot reported—
Augsburg UniversityMN · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Augsburg UniversityMN · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Azusa Pacific UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Azusa Pacific UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Bergen Community CollegeNJ · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Berkeley City CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Bethany CollegeKS · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Biola UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Boise State UniversityID · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Bradley UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Brookdale Community CollegeNJ · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Brookdale Community CollegeNJ · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Caddo Kiowa Technology CenterOK · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Collin County Community College DistrictTX · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Columbia College ChicagoIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Columbus College of Art & DesignOH · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationMaster’s degree · Not reportedNot reportedNot reported—
Commonwealth University of PennsylvaniaPA · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Connecticut State Community CollegeCT · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Cuyahoga Community College DistrictOH · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignUndergraduate certificate · HybridNot reportedNot reported—
DePaul UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Diablo Valley CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Diablo Valley CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Drury UniversityMO · Private nonprofitRequest information →Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Eastern Michigan UniversityMI · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Eastern Michigan UniversityMI · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Eastern New Mexico University-Roswell CampusNM · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignUndergraduate certificate · Fully onlineNot reportedNot reported—
Eastern New Mexico University-Roswell CampusNM · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignAssociate degree · Fully onlineNot reportedNot reported—
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-PrescottAZ · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Fayetteville Technical Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Finger Lakes Community CollegeNY · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Florida Southern CollegeFL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Freed-Hardeman UniversityTN · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Glendale Community CollegeAZ · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Glendale Community CollegeAZ · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Gwinnett Technical CollegeGA · PublicRequest information →Interior DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Hampshire CollegeMA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Applied Arts, OtherBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Harrisburg University of Science and TechnologyPA · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
High Plains Technology CenterOK · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Hinds Community CollegeMS · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Hinds Community CollegeMS · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-BarranquitasPR · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-BayamonPR · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-GuayamaPR · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Iowa Lakes Community CollegeIA · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Iowa Lakes Community CollegeIA · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Irvine Valley CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Irvine Valley CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Jackson CollegeMI · PublicRequest information →Industrial and Product DesignUndergraduate certificate · Online or on campusNot reportedNot reported—
Jackson CollegeMI · PublicRequest information →Industrial and Product DesignAssociate degree · Fully onlineNot reportedNot reported—
Johnson County Community CollegeKS · PublicRequest information →Interior DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Keiser University-Ft LauderdaleFL · Private nonprofitRequest information →Design and Visual Communications, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Kiamichi Technology Center-McAlesterOK · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Laguna College of Art and DesignCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Laguna College of Art and DesignCA · Private nonprofitRequest information →IllustrationMaster’s degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Lindenwood UniversityMO · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · Online or on campusNot reportedNot reported—
Lindenwood UniversityMO · Private nonprofitRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignMaster’s degree · Online or on campusNot reportedNot reported—
Louisiana Tech UniversityLA · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Mercer County Community CollegeNJ · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Mercer County Community CollegeNJ · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Mesa Community CollegeAZ · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignUndergraduate certificate · Online or on campusNot reportedNot reported—
Mesa Community CollegeAZ · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignAssociate degree · Online or on campusNot reportedNot reported—
Miami Dade CollegeFL · PublicRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusOffers: Film, Television and Digital Production (BAS) · Animation and Game Art (AS) · Game Development and Design (AS) · Computer Arts Animation (AA)Not reportedNot reported—
Miami Dade CollegeFL · PublicRequest information →Fashion/Apparel DesignAssociate degree · On campusOffers: Film, Television and Digital Production (BAS) · Animation and Game Art (AS) · Game Development and Design (AS) · Computer Arts Animation (AA)Not reportedNot reported—
Montgomery CollegeMD · PublicRequest information →Commercial and Advertising ArtUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Moorpark CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignUndergraduate certificate · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Moorpark CollegeCA · PublicRequest information →Game and Interactive Media DesignAssociate degree · On campusNot reportedNot reported—
Moraine Park Technical CollegeWI · PublicRequest information →Graphic DesignUndergraduate certificate · Not reportedNot reportedNot reported—

Showing 150 of 237 programs, lowest debt-to-earnings first. Sorting reorders these 150; narrow the filters to bring the rest into view.

Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)

How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.

One thing these figures cannot tell you

Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Design & applied arts” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. Full methodology.