Computer science Master’s degree
298 programs — 50 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, ordered by median debt against median earnings — lowest first.
Data last updated
Field
| Institution | Programcredential and delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Illinois Urbana-ChampaignIL · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | $18,835 | $179,395 | 10% |
| University of California-San DiegoCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | $25,903 | $231,397 | 11% |
| Colorado School of MinesCO · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | $20,500 | $147,702 | 14% |
| Cornell UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | $34,528 | $235,762 | 15% |
| Stevens Institute of TechnologyNJ · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | $26,806 | $171,253 | 16% |
| Portland State UniversityOR · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | $24,484 | $145,715 | 17% |
| New York UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer scienceMaster’s degree · Not reportedOffers: Film and Television (Tisch) (BFA) · Game Design (Tisch Game Center) (BFA) · Integrated Design and Media (Tandon) (BS) · Computer Science (Tandon) (BS) · Computer Science (Tandon) (MS) | $30,925 | $172,796 | 18% |
| North Carolina State University at RaleighNC · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | $30,750 | $164,757 | 19% |
| University of Massachusetts-AmherstMA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $30,322 | $154,099 | 20% |
| University of Illinois SpringfieldIL · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | $25,099 | $126,156 | 20% |
| Georgia Institute of Technology-Main CampusGA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campusOffers: Computer Science (BS) · Computational Media (BS) · Digital Media (MS) | $40,321 | $169,689 | 24% |
| University of Southern CaliforniaCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | $51,250 | $188,871 | 27% |
| National UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $37,950 | $132,798 | 29% |
| Kennesaw State UniversityGA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $41,000 | $117,931 | 35% |
| Pace UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | $38,240 | $109,851 | 35% |
| Maharishi International UniversityIA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | $51,091 | $139,773 | 37% |
| University of ChicagoIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | $80,205 | $169,765 | 47% |
| Arizona State University Campus ImmersionAZ · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $177,303 | — |
| Arizona State University Digital ImmersionAZ · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Hybrid | — | $177,303 | — |
| Boston UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | — | $153,937 | — |
| Brigham Young UniversityUT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $130,090 | — |
| Brown UniversityRI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $208,655 | — |
| California Polytechnic State University-San Luis ObispoCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $235,241 | — |
| California State Polytechnic University-PomonaCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $141,744 | — |
| California State University-FullertonCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $126,439 | — |
| California State University-NorthridgeCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $178,136 | — |
| Columbia University in the City of New YorkNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | $41,000 | — | — |
| Drexel UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | — | $188,550 | — |
| Illinois Institute of TechnologyIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Hybrid | — | $131,511 | — |
| Lewis UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Hybrid | $31,390 | — | — |
| North Carolina A & T State UniversityNC · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Hybrid | — | $122,747 | — |
| Northwestern UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $197,823 | — |
| Nova Southeastern UniversityFL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | — | $142,461 | — |
| Rensselaer Polytechnic InstituteNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $200,027 | — |
| Rochester Institute of TechnologyNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · HybridOffers: Game Design and Development (BS) · Game Design and Development (MS) · Film and Animation (BFA) · Motion Picture Science (BS) · 3D Visualization (Digital Design) (BFA) · New Media Design (BFA) · Graphic Design (BFA) | — | $162,539 | — |
| Rowan UniversityNJ · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $127,178 | — |
| Seattle UniversityWA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $185,607 | — |
| Stanford UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | — | $255,667 | — |
| Texas A & M University-College StationTX · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Hybrid | — | $142,377 | — |
| The University of Tennessee-KnoxvilleTN · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | — | $135,764 | — |
| Towson UniversityMD · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $149,320 | — |
| University of California-IrvineCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $175,922 | — |
| University of Colorado BoulderCO · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | — | $148,463 | — |
| University of Illinois ChicagoIL · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $145,430 | — |
| University of Massachusetts-LowellMA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $151,603 | — |
| University of North Carolina at CharlotteNC · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $107,088 | — |
| University of North Carolina WilmingtonNC · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Not reported | $21,873 | — | — |
| University of PennsylvaniaPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $147,612 | — |
| University of TulsaOK · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $119,962 | — |
| Washington University in St LouisMO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $167,975 | — |
| Air Force Institute of Technology-Graduate School of Engineering & ManagementOH · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| American UniversityDC · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Appalachian State UniversityNC · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Auburn University at MontgomeryAL · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Ball State UniversityIN · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Baylor UniversityTX · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Binghamton UniversityNY · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Boise State UniversityID · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Bradley UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Brandeis UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Bridgewater State UniversityMA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California Institute of TechnologyCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California Lutheran UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-Channel IslandsCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-ChicoCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-Dominguez HillsCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-East BayCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-FresnoCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-Long BeachCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-Los AngelesCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-SacramentoCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-San BernardinoCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-San MarcosCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Campbellsville UniversityKY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Capitol Technology UniversityMD · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Carnegie Mellon UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Case Western Reserve UniversityOH · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Central Michigan UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Central Washington UniversityWA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Chapman UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Chicago State UniversityIL · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Citadel Military College of South CarolinaSC · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| City University of SeattleWA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Clark Atlanta UniversityGA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Clark UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Clarkson UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Clemson UniversitySC · PublicRequest information → | Computer scienceMaster’s degree · Online or on campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Cleveland State UniversityOH · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| College of CharlestonSC · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| College of Staten Island CUNYNY · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Concordia University Ann ArborMI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Concordia University-WisconsinWI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| CUNY Brooklyn CollegeNY · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| CUNY City CollegeNY · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| CUNY Graduate School and University CenterNY · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| CUNY Hunter CollegeNY · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| CUNY Lehman CollegeNY · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| CUNY Queens CollegeNY · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Dartmouth CollegeNH · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Davenport UniversityMI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Delaware State UniversityDE · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| DePaul UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Duke UniversityNC · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Duquesne UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| East Carolina UniversityNC · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Eastern Michigan UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Emory UniversityGA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Fairfax University of AmericaVA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer scienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham CampusNJ · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan CampusNJ · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Felician UniversityNJ · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Fitchburg State UniversityMA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Florida Institute of TechnologyFL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Franklin UniversityOH · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Frostburg State UniversityMD · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| George Washington UniversityDC · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Georgetown UniversityDC · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Georgia Southern UniversityGA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Georgia Southwestern State UniversityGA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Georgia State UniversityGA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Governors State UniversityIL · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Harrisburg University of Science and TechnologyPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Harvard UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Hofstra UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Hood CollegeMD · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Howard UniversityDC · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Idaho State UniversityID · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Illinois State UniversityIL · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Indiana State UniversityIN · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Indiana University-BloomingtonIN · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campusOffers: Audio Engineering and Sound Production (BS) · Music Production – Audio Engineering (BS) · Music Production – Creation and Production (BS) · Performance (BM) · Jazz Studies (BM) · Composition (BM) · Music Education (BME) · Music and an Outside Field (BS) | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Indiana University-IndianapolisIN · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Inter American University of Puerto Rico-FajardoPR · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Iona UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Iowa State UniversityIA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Jackson State UniversityMS · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Kent State University at KentOH · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Kettering UniversityMI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Kutztown University of PennsylvaniaPA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lamar UniversityTX · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lawrence Technological UniversityMI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lehigh UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical CollegeLA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Louisiana Tech UniversityLA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Loyola University ChicagoIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Loyola University MarylandMD · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Marquette UniversityWI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Massachusetts Institute of TechnologyMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Mercy UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Merrimack CollegeMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Metropolitan State UniversityMN · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Showing 150 of 298 programs, lowest debt-to-earnings first. Sorting reorders these 150; narrow the filters to bring the rest into view.
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.
One thing these figures cannot tell you
Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Computer science” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. Full methodology.