Audio and Music Production Master’s degree
286 programs — 89 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, led by institutions where this is the main program rather than one of many. Federal figures cover the wider program family, so a row may share its numbers with related degrees.
Data last updated
Specific program
Schools file the same degree under different federal codes — Berklee’s music production sits under “Music, Other”, Academy of Art’s under “Recording Arts”. These groups gather every code a program is actually filed under.
A note on this grouping. It includes a federal catch-all code, which is where several well-known programs in this area are filed — but catch-alls also hold degrees that are not. Check the program name on each row.
| Institution | Programcredential and delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stephen F Austin State UniversityTX · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | $33,236 | $59,471 | 56% |
| Colorado State University-Fort CollinsCO · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · Fully online | $40,506 | $57,772 | 70% |
| University of Minnesota-Twin CitiesMN · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | $42,700 | $47,890 | 89% |
| University of Northern ColoradoCO · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | $38,046 | $41,645 | 91% |
| Sam Houston State UniversityTX · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music PedagogyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $68,888 | — |
| Texas Woman's UniversityTX · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $49,163 | — |
| University of FloridaFL · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $59,913 | — |
| University of IowaIA · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $48,460 | — |
| University of KansasKS · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $49,191 | — |
| University of LouisvilleKY · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $41,519 | — |
| University of Nebraska-LincolnNE · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $53,139 | — |
| University of Wisconsin-MilwaukeeWI · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $53,047 | — |
| The University of Tennessee-KnoxvilleTN · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Keyboard InstrumentsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $34,623 | $53,019 | 65% |
| Texas Tech UniversityTX · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music PedagogyKeyboard InstrumentsJazz/Jazz StudiesMusic History, Literature, and TheoryMusic Theory and CompositionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $52,995 | — |
| University of Nevada-Las VegasNV · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Jazz/Jazz StudiesMusic, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $54,262 | — |
| Montclair State UniversityNJ · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $41,000 | $54,787 | 75% |
| University of Oklahoma-Norman CampusOK · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $29,500 | $39,637 | 74% |
| Texas State UniversityTX · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $33,399 | $37,655 | 89% |
| The University of Texas at AustinTX · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralConductingJazz/Jazz StudiesMusic Theory and CompositionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $40,666 | $37,603 | 108% |
| University of MemphisTN · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $24,597 | $57,099 | 43% |
| University of GeorgiaGA · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $47,875 | — |
| University of Illinois Urbana-ChampaignIL · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralJazz/Jazz StudiesMusicology and EthnomusicologyVoice and OperaMusic Theory and CompositionMusic, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $18,500 | $39,607 | 47% |
| Ohio State University-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionJazz/Jazz StudiesMusic History, Literature, and TheoryThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $60,865 | — |
| University of DelawareDE · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralVoice and OperaMusic, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $66,502 | — |
| University of Maryland-College ParkMD · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusicology and EthnomusicologyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $33,000 | $54,160 | 61% |
| University of Nevada-RenoNV · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $42,242 | — |
| Illinois State UniversityIL · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $31,482 | $46,476 | 68% |
| University of DenverCO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusicology and EthnomusicologyMusic TechnologyMusic Theory and CompositionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $41,000 | $53,050 | 77% |
| University of California-Los AngelesCA · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Musicology and EthnomusicologyMusic Performance, GeneralJazz/Jazz StudiesMusic Theory and CompositionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $37,820 | $45,410 | 83% |
| Liberty UniversityVA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music PedagogyMaster’s degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music, OtherMusicology and EthnomusicologyMusic, GeneralBrass InstrumentsKeyboard InstrumentsMusic History, Literature, and TheoryStringed InstrumentsVoice and OperaMusic Theory and CompositionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $34,061 | $46,324 | 74% |
| University of South Carolina-ColumbiaSC · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralConductingMusic, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $38,386 | $54,634 | 70% |
| University of ArizonaAZ · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $33,881 | $49,602 | 68% |
| University of Massachusetts-AmherstMA · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic PedagogyConductingThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $38,489 | — |
| Rutgers University-NewarkNJ · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Jazz/Jazz StudiesThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $41,000 | — | — |
| Bowling Green State University-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information → | Music PedagogyMaster’s degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionMusicology and EthnomusicologyMusic History, Literature, and TheoryJazz/Jazz StudiesThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $32,465 | $46,069 | 70% |
| Ohio University-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information → | Music PedagogyMaster’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionConductingMusic History, Literature, and TheoryKeyboard InstrumentsVoice and OperaMusic TechnologyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $50,365 | — |
| University of North TexasTX · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralJazz/Jazz StudiesMusic Theory and CompositionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $35,608 | $44,040 | 81% |
| University of OregonOR · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionJazz/Jazz StudiesMusicology and EthnomusicologyConductingMusic TechnologyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $33,462 | $45,719 | 73% |
| Rider UniversityNJ · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music PedagogyMaster’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Voice and OperaMusic History, Literature, and TheoryConductingMusic, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionKeyboard InstrumentsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $41,000 | $45,928 | 89% |
| Arizona State University Campus ImmersionAZ · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionMusic PedagogyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $40,760 | $46,731 | 87% |
| New Jersey City UniversityNJ · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $82,054 | — |
| University of Akron Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionVoice and OperaStringed InstrumentsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $50,460 | — |
| Florida State UniversityFL · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusicology and EthnomusicologyMusic Theory and CompositionVoice and OperaThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $27,029 | $50,069 | 54% |
| California State University-FullertonCA · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $37,850 | — |
| California State University-NorthridgeCA · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $41,000 | $60,697 | 68% |
| Central Washington UniversityWA · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralVoice and OperaKeyboard InstrumentsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $14,817 | $79,115 | 19% |
| SUNY at Purchase CollegeNY · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionJazz/Jazz StudiesVoice and OperaThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $37,812 | — | — |
| Texas Christian UniversityTX · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralKeyboard InstrumentsStringed InstrumentsVoice and OperaMusic Theory and CompositionMusicology and EthnomusicologyConductingThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $47,885 | — |
| Carnegie Mellon UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralStringed InstrumentsVoice and OperaMusic Theory and CompositionMusic TechnologyMusic PedagogyConductingThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $50,693 | $39,953 | 127% |
| Shenandoah UniversityVA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music PedagogyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic TechnologyConductingMusic Theory and CompositionMusic, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $42,787 | — |
| Southern Methodist UniversityTX · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralVoice and OperaMusic Theory and CompositionKeyboard InstrumentsMusic History, Literature, and TheoryConductingMusic PedagogyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $44,670 | — |
| Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical CollegeLA · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $35,102 | $51,887 | 68% |
| Michigan State UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Music PedagogyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralJazz/Jazz StudiesMusic Theory and CompositionConductingKeyboard InstrumentsMusic, GeneralMusicology and EthnomusicologyMusic, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $30,158 | $62,193 | 48% |
| California Institute of the ArtsCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Theory and CompositionMusic Performance, GeneralJazz/Jazz StudiesThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $44,150 | $29,494 | 150% |
| Western Michigan UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic TechnologyVoice and OperaJazz/Jazz StudiesMusic Theory and CompositionConductingKeyboard InstrumentsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $33,453 | — |
| Duquesne UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $37,427 | — |
| University of Missouri-Kansas CityMO · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionJazz/Jazz StudiesConductingMusic History, Literature, and TheoryThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $32,000 | $47,852 | 67% |
| University of HartfordCT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Theory and CompositionJazz/Jazz StudiesVoice and OperaWoodwind InstrumentsKeyboard InstrumentsStringed InstrumentsBrass InstrumentsMusic TechnologyPercussion InstrumentsMusic History, Literature, and TheoryConductingMusic, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $19,227 | $54,836 | 35% |
| University of North Carolina at GreensboroNC · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionMusicology and EthnomusicologyMusic PedagogyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $29,590 | $40,517 | 73% |
| Wichita State UniversityKS · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralVoice and OperaConductingJazz/Jazz StudiesKeyboard InstrumentsMusic PedagogyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $49,779 | — |
| George Mason UniversityVA · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $53,431 | — |
| University of Colorado BoulderCO · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $41,000 | $45,110 | 91% |
| CUNY Brooklyn CollegeNY · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Theory and CompositionMusic Performance, GeneralMusicology and EthnomusicologyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $40,642 | $63,685 | 64% |
| Yale UniversityCT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Stringed InstrumentsMusic Performance, GeneralKeyboard InstrumentsVoice and OperaMusic Theory and CompositionMusic, OtherConductingThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $29,895 | — |
| Northwestern UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralStringed InstrumentsVoice and OperaKeyboard InstrumentsConductingJazz/Jazz StudiesMusic Theory and CompositionMusicology and EthnomusicologyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $47,600 | $34,062 | 140% |
| Baylor UniversityTX · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralKeyboard InstrumentsConductingMusic History, Literature, and TheoryMusic Theory and CompositionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $46,515 | — |
| Temple UniversityPA · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic TechnologyJazz/Jazz StudiesMusic Theory and CompositionVoice and OperaConductingKeyboard InstrumentsMusic History, Literature, and TheoryThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $37,500 | $44,122 | 85% |
| Rutgers University-New BrunswickNJ · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $41,000 | — | — |
| University of Michigan-Ann ArborMI · PublicRequest information → | Music History, Literature, and TheoryMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionKeyboard InstrumentsMusic, GeneralConductingStringed InstrumentsMusic TechnologyWoodwind InstrumentsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $41,000 | $38,693 | 106% |
| Boston UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionMusicology and EthnomusicologyKeyboard InstrumentsVoice and OperaThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $39,771 | $43,249 | 92% |
| Oklahoma City UniversityOK · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionVoice and OperaThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $39,946 | $49,533 | 81% |
| California State University-Long BeachCA · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $32,534 | — |
| New York UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionMusic, OtherVoice and OperaThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $103,403 | $52,777 | 196% |
| Northern Illinois UniversityIL · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $41,850 | — |
| University of MiamiFL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic, OtherJazz/Jazz StudiesMusic Theory and CompositionVoice and OperaKeyboard InstrumentsConductingMusicology and EthnomusicologyMusic PedagogyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $59,534 | $55,826 | 107% |
| University of RochesterNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionJazz/Jazz StudiesConductingKeyboard InstrumentsMusic TechnologyMusicology and EthnomusicologyMusic History, Literature, and TheoryVoice and OperaThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $44,399 | $42,543 | 104% |
| Indiana University-BloomingtonIN · PublicRequest information → | Music PedagogyMaster’s degree · On campusOffers: Music Education (BME) · Music and an Outside Field (BS)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic, OtherStringed InstrumentsKeyboard InstrumentsVoice and OperaMusicology and EthnomusicologyMusic, GeneralBrass InstrumentsWoodwind InstrumentsPercussion InstrumentsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $41,000 | $44,312 | 93% |
| Roosevelt UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Stringed InstrumentsVoice and OperaKeyboard InstrumentsMusic Performance, GeneralWoodwind InstrumentsMusic Theory and CompositionJazz/Jazz StudiesBrass InstrumentsPercussion InstrumentsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $39,903 | $41,219 | 97% |
| Rice UniversityTX · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Stringed InstrumentsVoice and OperaWoodwind InstrumentsBrass InstrumentsKeyboard InstrumentsPercussion InstrumentsMusic Theory and CompositionMusicology and EthnomusicologyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $27,000 | $50,777 | 53% |
| Messiah UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $21,472 | $77,342 | 28% |
| University of Cincinnati-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionConductingKeyboard InstrumentsVoice and OperaMusicology and EthnomusicologyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $38,500 | $37,208 | 103% |
| The New SchoolNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music History, Literature, and TheoryMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralKeyboard InstrumentsVoice and OperaJazz/Jazz StudiesMusic Theory and CompositionConductingThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $41,000 | $26,925 | 152% |
| University of Southern CaliforniaCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic, OtherJazz/Jazz StudiesStringed InstrumentsVoice and OperaKeyboard InstrumentsMusic Theory and CompositionBrass InstrumentsWoodwind InstrumentsPercussion InstrumentsMusicology and EthnomusicologyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $64,278 | $45,304 | 142% |
| University of South FloridaFL · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $46,862 | — |
| DePaul UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralJazz/Jazz StudiesMusic, OtherMusic Theory and CompositionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $41,000 | $38,670 | 106% |
| Berklee College of MusicMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music PedagogyMaster’s degree · Online or on campusOffers: Music Education (BM) · Music Therapy (BM) · Professional Music (BM) · Black Music and Culture (BM)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic, OtherMusic Theory and CompositionConductingThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $41,000 | $55,467 | 74% |
| Belmont UniversityTN · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music, OtherMusic Performance, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionVoice and OperaWoodwind InstrumentsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $51,250 | $37,264 | 138% |
| Johns Hopkins UniversityMD · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music History, Literature, and TheoryMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionMusic TechnologyMusic, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $57,528 | $51,713 | 111% |
| The New England Conservatory of MusicMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music PedagogyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Stringed InstrumentsVoice and OperaKeyboard InstrumentsJazz/Jazz StudiesWoodwind InstrumentsMusic Performance, GeneralBrass InstrumentsMusic Theory and CompositionPercussion InstrumentsConductingThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $41,000 | $45,532 | 90% |
| Austin Peay State UniversityTN · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Azusa Pacific UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Bemidji State UniversityMN · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Bethesda UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-ChicoCA · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-East BayCA · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-FresnoCA · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Claremont Graduate UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Cleveland State UniversityOH · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Concordia University-ChicagoIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Cornell UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Musicology and EthnomusicologyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Dartmouth CollegeNH · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Duke UniversityNC · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| East Carolina UniversityNC · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Eastern Illinois UniversityIL · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Eastern Kentucky UniversityKY · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Elizabethtown CollegePA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music PedagogyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Emory UniversityGA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Emporia State UniversityKS · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Florida Atlantic UniversityFL · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Florida International UniversityFL · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Georgia Southern UniversityGA · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Howard UniversityDC · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Jacksonville State UniversityAL · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Kansas State UniversityKS · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lamar UniversityTX · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lindenwood UniversityMO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Marshall UniversityWV · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Minnesota State University-MankatoMN · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Mississippi State UniversityMS · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Morgan State UniversityMD · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| North Dakota State University-Main CampusND · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Northeastern Illinois UniversityIL · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Northeastern UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · Online or on campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Oklahoma State University-Main CampusOK · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Princeton UniversityNJ · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Radford UniversityVA · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Southeastern Oklahoma State UniversityOK · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Southern Adventist UniversityTN · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Southern Illinois University-CarbondaleIL · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Southern Illinois University-EdwardsvilleIL · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Southwestern Oklahoma State UniversityOK · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Texas A & M University-KingsvilleTX · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| The University of AlabamaAL · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| The University of Texas at El PasoTX · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Towson UniversityMD · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Tufts UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Tulane University of LouisianaLA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of California-BerkeleyCA · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of California-DavisCA · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Central MissouriMO · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of ChicagoIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Hawaii at ManoaHI · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of LynchburgVA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of MississippiMS · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Nebraska at KearneyNE · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of New Hampshire-Main CampusNH · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of North DakotaND · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Notre DameIN · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of PennsylvaniaPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh CampusPA · PublicRequest information → | Music, GeneralMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Showing 150 of 286 programs, lowest debt-to-earnings first. Sorting reorders these 150; narrow the filters to bring the rest into view.
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.
One thing these figures cannot tell you
Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Audio and Music Production” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. Full methodology.