Design and Digital Art Bachelor’s degree
95 programs — 43 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, led by institutions where this is the main program rather than one of many. Federal figures cover the wider program family, so a row may share its numbers with related degrees.
Data last updated
Specific program
Schools file the same degree under different federal codes — Berklee’s music production sits under “Music, Other”, Academy of Art’s under “Recording Arts”. These groups gather every code a program is actually filed under.
Field
Delivery
| Institution | Programcredential and delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atlantic UniversityPR · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $5,440 | $23,042 | 24% |
| Arizona State University Campus ImmersionAZ · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $18,964 | $57,618 | 33% |
| Lynn UniversityFL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $12,997 | $36,590 | 36% |
| Ringling College of Art and DesignFL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $27,000 | $75,213 | 36% |
| Columbia College ChicagoIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $20,000 | $43,970 | 45% |
| George Mason UniversityVA · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · Hybrid | $22,985 | $47,440 | 48% |
| East Tennessee State UniversityTN · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $22,250 | $41,074 | 54% |
| University of IdahoID · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $26,958 | $49,188 | 55% |
| DePaul UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $25,000 | $45,028 | 56% |
| Sam Houston State UniversityTX · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $24,500 | $42,579 | 58% |
| Savannah College of Art and DesignGA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campusOffers: Animation (BFA) · Animation (MA/MFA) · Visual Effects (BFA) · Motion Media Design (BFA) | $25,300 | $43,058 | 59% |
| University of Hawaii at ManoaHI · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $21,125 | $35,830 | 59% |
| DigiPen Institute of TechnologyWA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $27,000 | $45,571 | 59% |
| Academy of Art UniversityCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · HybridOffers: Animation and Visual Effects (BFA) | $31,125 | $50,833 | 61% |
| Minneapolis College of Art and DesignMN · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $27,000 | $43,745 | 62% |
| University of Silicon ValleyCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $31,000 | $49,968 | 62% |
| New Mexico State University-Main CampusNM · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $22,500 | $33,612 | 67% |
| Laguna College of Art and DesignCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $27,000 | $38,850 | 69% |
| Bradley UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $27,000 | $37,657 | 72% |
| Pratt Institute-MainNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campusOffers: Digital Arts – 2-D Animation (BFA) · Digital Arts – 3-D Animation and Motion Arts (BFA) | $26,000 | $35,100 | 74% |
| Rocky Mountain College of Art and DesignCO · Private for-profitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · Hybrid | $28,115 | $37,239 | 75% |
| SUNY College of Technology at AlfredNY · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $27,000 | $35,521 | 76% |
| Huntington UniversityIN · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $27,000 | $34,787 | 78% |
| College for Creative StudiesMI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $27,000 | $34,003 | 79% |
| Columbus College of Art & DesignOH · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $27,000 | $33,389 | 81% |
| California College of the ArtsCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $26,899 | $31,068 | 87% |
| Regent UniversityVA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $25,750 | $29,565 | 87% |
| Kansas City Art InstituteMO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $27,000 | $30,798 | 88% |
| School of Visual ArtsNY · Private for-profitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campusOffers: Animation (BFA) · 3D Animation and Visual Effects (BFA) | $27,000 | $30,125 | 90% |
| Los Angeles Film SchoolCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · Fully onlineOffers: Animation (BS) | $33,250 | $34,138 | 97% |
| Art Center College of DesignCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $37,000 | — | — |
| Brigham Young UniversityUT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | — | $73,941 | — |
| Cleveland Institute of ArtOH · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $27,000 | — | — |
| Florida State College at JacksonvilleFL · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | — | $29,783 | — |
| Indian River State CollegeFL · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | — | $34,741 | — |
| Loyola Marymount UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | — | $76,522 | — |
| Montserrat College of ArtMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | — | $34,006 | — |
| Morgan State UniversityMD · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $31,000 | — | — |
| New Jersey Institute of TechnologyNJ · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | $25,875 | — | — |
| Villa Maria CollegeNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | — | $35,482 | — |
| Webster UniversityMO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | — | $40,168 | — |
| Ferris State UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Printing ManagementGraphic Communications, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $27,000 | $44,116 | 61% |
| Rochester Institute of TechnologyNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campusOffers: Film and Animation (BFA) · 3D Visualization (Digital Design) (BFA)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Prepress/Desktop Publishing and Digital Imaging DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $27,000 | $55,122 | 49% |
| American Academy of Art CollegeIL · Private for-profitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Azusa Pacific UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Bennington CollegeVT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Buena Vista UniversityIA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California College of ASUCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California Institute of the ArtsCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Chapman UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Chatham UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Clark UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Clarkson UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Colorado Mesa UniversityCO · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Cornish College of the ArtsWA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Drexel UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Drury UniversityMO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Elmhurst UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Fashion Institute of TechnologyNY · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campusOffers: Animation, Interactive Media and Game Design (BFA) | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Hampshire CollegeMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| John Brown UniversityAR · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lake Washington Institute of TechnologyWA · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Laurus CollegeCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lawrence Technological UniversityMI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lesley UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lycoming CollegePA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Maine College of Art & DesignME · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Maryland Institute College of ArtMD · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Middle Tennessee State UniversityTN · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Milwaukee Institute of Art & DesignWI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Minnesota State University MoorheadMN · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Missouri Western State UniversityMO · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| New York Film AcademyCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| New York UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Newschool of Architecture and DesignCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| North Central CollegeIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Northeastern UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine ArtsPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Point Park UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Saint Edward's UniversityTX · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Shawnee State UniversityOH · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| State University of New York at OswegoNY · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Syracuse UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| The University of TampaFL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Universidad del Sagrado CorazonPR · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Advancing TechnologyAZ · Private for-profitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of BaltimoreMD · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Hawaii-West OahuHI · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Northwestern-St PaulMN · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of the ArtsPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of the Incarnate WordTX · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Wisconsin-MilwaukeeWI · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| West Virginia University at ParkersburgWV · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Wilmington UniversityDE · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · Hybrid | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Woodbury UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.
One thing these figures cannot tell you
Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Design and Digital Art” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. Full methodology.