Online Computer science programs
120 programs — 38 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, ordered by median debt against median earnings — lowest first.
Data last updated
Field
| Institution | Programcredential and delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Illinois Urbana-ChampaignIL · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | $18,835 | $179,395 | 10% |
| California State University-San MarcosCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $12,500 | $97,827 | 13% |
| Stevens Institute of TechnologyNJ · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | $26,806 | $171,253 | 16% |
| California State University-Monterey BayCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $16,022 | $101,787 | 16% |
| University of Colorado BoulderCO · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $19,687 | $121,952 | 16% |
| Boston UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $23,125 | $136,667 | 17% |
| Weber State UniversityUT · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $18,500 | $100,157 | 18% |
| North Carolina State University at RaleighNC · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | $30,750 | $164,757 | 19% |
| Oregon State UniversityOR · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $22,721 | $121,405 | 19% |
| Oregon State University-Cascades CampusOR · PublicRequest information → | Computer scienceBachelor’s degree · Online or on campus | $22,721 | $121,405 | 19% |
| University of ArizonaAZ · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $22,000 | $117,451 | 19% |
| University of Illinois SpringfieldIL · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | $25,099 | $126,156 | 20% |
| Southern New Hampshire UniversityNH · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully onlineOffers: Marketing (BS) · Business Administration (BS) · Project Management (BS) · Communication (BA) · Information Technology (BS) · Cybersecurity (BS) · Computer Science (BS) · Data Analytics (BS) | $23,466 | $115,259 | 20% |
| Indiana University-IndianapolisIN · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $21,500 | $94,380 | 23% |
| University of Illinois SpringfieldIL · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $24,925 | $102,020 | 24% |
| Full Sail UniversityFL · Private for-profitRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully onlineOffers: Audio Production (BS) · Music Production (BS) · Recording Arts (BS) · Live Event Production (BS) · Music Business (BS) · Film Production (BFA) · Game Design (BS) · Game Development (BS) · Computer Animation (BS) · Graphic Design (BS) · Digital Marketing (BS) | $19,500 | $77,512 | 25% |
| Regis UniversityCO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $28,750 | $114,098 | 25% |
| Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended StudiesMO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $15,451 | $59,648 | 26% |
| Concordia University-Saint PaulMN · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $27,754 | $105,577 | 26% |
| University of Southern CaliforniaCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | $51,250 | $188,871 | 27% |
| Champlain CollegeVT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $27,000 | $97,753 | 28% |
| Western Michigan UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $27,000 | $90,876 | 30% |
| Saint Leo UniversityFL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $23,304 | $72,645 | 32% |
| Rasmussen University-MinnesotaMN · Private for-profitRequest information → | Computer scienceBachelor’s degree · Online or on campus | $28,113 | $84,899 | 33% |
| Rasmussen University-North DakotaND · Private for-profitRequest information → | Computer scienceBachelor’s degree · Online or on campus | $28,113 | $84,899 | 33% |
| Rasmussen University-KansasKS · Private for-profitRequest information → | Computer scienceBachelor’s degree · Online or on campus | $28,113 | $84,899 | 33% |
| Southern University Law CenterLA · PublicRequest information → | Computer scienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $28,750 | $58,951 | 49% |
| Boston UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | — | $153,937 | — |
| Columbia University in the City of New YorkNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | $41,000 | — | — |
| Drexel UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | — | $188,550 | — |
| Full Sail UniversityFL · Private for-profitRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully onlineOffers: Audio Production (BS) · Music Production (BS) · Recording Arts (BS) · Live Event Production (BS) · Music Business (BS) · Film Production (BFA) · Game Design (BS) · Game Development (BS) · Computer Animation (BS) · Graphic Design (BS) · Digital Marketing (BS) | — | $32,197 | — |
| Indiana University-South BendIN · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | — | $99,574 | — |
| Indiana University-SoutheastIN · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | — | $102,250 | — |
| Lake Area Technical CollegeSD · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | — | $60,752 | — |
| Nova Southeastern UniversityFL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | — | $142,461 | — |
| Stanford UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | — | $255,667 | — |
| The University of Tennessee-KnoxvilleTN · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | — | $135,764 | — |
| University of Colorado BoulderCO · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | — | $148,463 | — |
| American National University-PikevilleKY · Private for-profitRequest information → | Computer scienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| American River CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Austin Peay State UniversityTN · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Averett UniversityVA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Baylor UniversityTX · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Butte CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Calvary UniversityMO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer scienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Carnegie Mellon UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Carson-Newman UniversityTN · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Carson-Newman UniversityTN · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Case Western Reserve UniversityOH · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Centenary UniversityNJ · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer scienceBachelor’s degree · Online or on campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended StudiesMO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Chandler-Gilbert Community CollegeAZ · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Clemson UniversitySC · PublicRequest information → | Computer scienceMaster’s degree · Online or on campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Cochise County Community College DistrictAZ · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| College of Our Lady of the ElmsMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Colorado Christian UniversityCO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer scienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Colorado Christian UniversityCO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer scienceBachelor’s degree · Online or on campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Community College of VermontVT · PublicRequest information → | Computer scienceUndergraduate certificate · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Copiah-Lincoln Community CollegeMS · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Dallas Baptist UniversityTX · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Dallas CollegeTX · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Finger Lakes Community CollegeNY · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Fitchburg State UniversityMA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Folsom Lake CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Foothill CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Hofstra UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Houston Community CollegeTX · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Indiana State UniversityIN · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Indiana University-IndianapolisIN · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Indiana University-KokomoIN · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Infinity CollegeLA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Computer scienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Inter American University of Puerto Rico-AguadillaPR · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Inter American University of Puerto Rico-AguadillaPR · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Inter American University of Puerto Rico-FajardoPR · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Ivy Tech Community CollegeIN · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceUndergraduate certificate · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Ivy Tech Community CollegeIN · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Los Angeles Southwest CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer scienceAssociate degree · Online or on campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Madonna UniversityMI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Mesa Community CollegeAZ · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| MidAmerica Nazarene UniversityKS · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer scienceBachelor’s degree · Online or on campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Missouri Western State UniversityMO · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Napa Valley CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Navajo Technical UniversityNM · PublicRequest information → | Computer scienceUndergraduate certificate · Online or on campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Naval Postgraduate SchoolCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| New Jersey Institute of TechnologyNJ · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| New Mexico State University-Main CampusNM · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| North Central CollegeIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Northampton County Area Community CollegePA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Norwich UniversityVT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Nova Southeastern UniversityFL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Ohlone CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceUndergraduate certificate · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Ohlone CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Oregon State UniversityOR · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Oregon State University-Cascades CampusOR · PublicRequest information → | Computer scienceMaster’s degree · Online or on campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| San Joaquin Delta CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Snow CollegeUT · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Southern California Institute of TechnologyCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Computer scienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Southwestern CollegeKS · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Spring Hill CollegeAL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer scienceBachelor’s degree · Online or on campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Talladega CollegeAL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer scienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Texas CollegeTX · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| The College of Saint RoseNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| The University of FindlayOH · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| The University of Texas Permian BasinTX · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceUndergraduate certificate · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Tiffin UniversityOH · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer scienceBachelor’s degree · Online or on campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Treasure Valley Community CollegeOR · PublicRequest information → | Computer scienceAssociate degree · Online or on campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Tufts UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of IdahoID · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Maine at Presque IsleME · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Nevada-RenoNV · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of North DakotaND · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Northwestern-St PaulMN · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of South Carolina-ColumbiaSC · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of West FloridaFL · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Wisconsin-MilwaukeeWI · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Wisconsin-River FallsWI · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Vanderbilt UniversityTN · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Western Michigan UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| William Jessup UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Worcester Polytechnic InstituteMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.
One thing these figures cannot tell you
Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Computer science” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. That pooling also spans delivery: where a school runs the same credential both online and on campus, the federal figures combine both sets of students. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. Full methodology.