On-campus Educational/Instructional Media Design programs
75 programs — 15 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, ordered by median debt against median earnings — lowest first.
Data last updated
Field
Hide for-profit collegesWhat our data shows about for-profit collegesAcross the creative fields on this site, students at private for-profit institutions borrow 27% more than students at public ones ($29,332 against $23,033) and earn 15% less four years after completing ($38,361 against $45,110).The combined effect is severe. Median debt at a for-profit equals 70% of a graduate’s annual earnings, against 47% at a public institution. And 10% of for-profit programs leave graduates owing more than they earn in a year — against 1% of public ones. Ten times the rate.This is a pattern across 212 for-profit programs, not a handful of outliers, and it holds in every creative field we cover. It does not mean no for-profit program is worth taking: some appear high in our best-value rankings, and this filter hides those too. It means the odds are materially worse, and the burden of proof sits with the school.Figures are medians computed from the College Scorecard and IPEDS data behind every table on this site.
| Institution | Programcredential and delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harvard UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | $20,500 | $127,546 | 16% |
| Aurora UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | $20,505 | $76,260 | 27% |
| University of North TexasTX · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | $27,975 | $82,284 | 34% |
| Long Island UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | $31,250 | $91,452 | 34% |
| Valdosta State UniversityGA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | $27,924 | $71,246 | 39% |
| Central Connecticut State UniversityCT · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $67,787 | — |
| Kutztown University of PennsylvaniaPA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $64,548 | — |
| Lone Star College SystemTX · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyAssociate degree · On campus | — | $34,994 | — |
| Mississippi State UniversityMS · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyBachelor’s degree · On campus | $25,716 | — | — |
| Molloy CollegeNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $90,686 | — |
| Teachers College at Columbia UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $90,375 | — |
| University of Akron Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $73,409 | — |
| University of Hawaii at ManoaHI · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $86,201 | — |
| University of Massachusetts-BostonMA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $108,956 | — |
| University of Michigan-FlintMI · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $67,971 | — |
| Anderson UniversitySC · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Azusa Pacific UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Bethany CollegeKS · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Boston CollegeMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Bridgewater State UniversityMA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Bridgewater State UniversityMA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Brigham Young UniversityUT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-East BayCA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-San BernardinoCA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Caribbean University-PoncePR · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Coastal Carolina UniversitySC · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Cossatot Community College of the University of ArkansasAR · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Delaware Technical Community College-TerryDE · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Doane UniversityNE · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Drury UniversityMO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Eastern Washington UniversityWA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Essex County CollegeNJ · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyAssociate degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Evergreen Valley CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Harrisburg University of Science and TechnologyPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Hofstra UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Howard CollegeTX · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Johnson UniversityTN · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Kennesaw State UniversityGA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| La Salle UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lehigh UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lesley UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lipscomb UniversityTN · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusOffers: Audio Engineering Technology (BA/BS) · Music Technology (BM) · Audio Engineering (MS) · Music Business (BBA) | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lone Star College SystemTX · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Merritt CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Metropolitan Community College AreaNE · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Ottawa University-OttawaKS · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Pennsylvania State University-Main CampusPA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Regent UniversityVA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Saint Cloud State UniversityMN · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| San Diego State UniversityCA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Seattle Pacific UniversityWA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| SUNY BrockportNY · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Texas A & M University-Corpus ChristiTX · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| The University of TampaFL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| The University of Texas at San AntonioTX · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Arkansas Hope-TexarkanaAR · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Cincinnati-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of ConnecticutCT · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of GeorgiaGA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Houston-Clear LakeTX · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Michigan-DearbornMI · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Minnesota-Twin CitiesMN · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of MobileAL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel HillNC · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Oklahoma-Norman CampusOK · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of PennsylvaniaPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of San FranciscoCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Southern MississippiMS · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Warren County Community CollegeNJ · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Warren County Community CollegeNJ · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyAssociate degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Washington State UniversityWA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Washington State UniversityWA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Wayne State UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyBachelor’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Western Kentucky UniversityKY · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Worcester Polytechnic InstituteMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.
One thing these figures cannot tell you
Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Educational/Instructional Media Design” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. Full methodology.