Film and Video Master’s degree
56 programs — 12 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, led by institutions where this is the main program rather than one of many. Federal figures cover the wider program family, so a row may share its numbers with related degrees.
Data last updated
Specific program
Schools file the same degree under different federal codes — Berklee’s music production sits under “Music, Other”, Academy of Art’s under “Recording Arts”. These groups gather every code a program is actually filed under.
Delivery
| Institution | Programcredential and delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regent UniversityVA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | $55,672 | $57,017 | 98% |
| University of California-Los AngelesCA · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | $92,809 | $53,630 | 173% |
| American Film Institute ConservatoryCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | $164,727 | $43,012 | 383% |
| American UniversityDC · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionPhotographyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $66,504 | $76,808 | 87% |
| CUNY City CollegeNY · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $41,000 | $47,282 | 87% |
| University of Southern CaliforniaCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $167,503 | $51,931 | 323% |
| Columbia University in the City of New YorkNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $163,605 | $56,444 | 290% |
| CUNY Brooklyn CollegeNY · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $61,500 | $66,636 | 92% |
| Loyola Marymount UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $120,626 | $55,619 | 217% |
| Chapman UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionDocumentary ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $144,710 | $50,895 | 284% |
| Columbia College ChicagoIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionPhotographyDocumentary ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $83,900 | $53,147 | 158% |
| Savannah College of Art and DesignGA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionPhotographyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $95,380 | $53,996 | 177% |
| Boston UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Central Michigan UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Central Washington UniversityWA · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| College of Staten Island CUNYNY · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Emory UniversityGA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Harvard UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Hollins UniversityVA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Howard UniversityDC · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Johns Hopkins UniversityMD · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Stony Brook UniversityNY · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University at BuffaloNY · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of California-BerkeleyCA · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of California-Santa BarbaraCA · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of ChicagoIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Colorado BoulderCO · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of DenverCO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of KansasKS · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Michigan-Ann ArborMI · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Nevada-Las VegasNV · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh CampusPA · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of RochesterNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of UtahUT · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Washington-Seattle CampusWA · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Wesleyan UniversityCT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Wichita State UniversityKS · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of IowaIA · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| San Francisco State UniversityCA · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Wisconsin-MilwaukeeWI · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Brigham Young UniversityUT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:PhotographyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of GeorgiaGA · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Yale UniversityCT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:PhotographyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Washington University in St LouisMO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Ohio State University-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Film/Video and Photographic Arts, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Stanford UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Northwestern UniversityIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Documentary ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of HartfordCT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:PhotographyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| The New SchoolNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:PhotographyDocumentary ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| SUNY at Purchase CollegeNY · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionPhotographyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of MiamiFL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lipscomb UniversityTN · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of North Carolina WilmingtonNC · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of South Carolina-ColumbiaSC · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Film/Video and Photographic Arts, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Ohio University-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionPhotographyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham CampusNJ · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Film/Cinema/Media StudiesMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.
One thing these figures cannot tell you
Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Film and Video” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. Full methodology.