On-campus Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication Undergraduate certificate
41 programs — 1 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, ordered by median debt against median earnings — lowest first.
Data last updated
Field
Delivery
Hide for-profit collegesWhat our data shows about for-profit collegesAcross the creative fields on this site, students at private for-profit institutions borrow 27% more than students at public ones ($29,332 against $23,033) and earn 15% less four years after completing ($38,361 against $45,110).The combined effect is severe. Median debt at a for-profit equals 70% of a graduate’s annual earnings, against 47% at a public institution. And 10% of for-profit programs leave graduates owing more than they earn in a year — against 1% of public ones. Ten times the rate.This is a pattern across 212 for-profit programs, not a handful of outliers, and it holds in every creative field we cover. It does not mean no for-profit program is worth taking: some appear high in our best-value rankings, and this filter hides those too. It means the odds are materially worse, and the burden of proof sits with the school.Figures are medians computed from the College Scorecard and IPEDS data behind every table on this site.
| Institution | Programcredential and delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of GeorgiaGA · PublicRequest information → | AdvertisingUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementPolitical CommunicationSports CommunicationHealth CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $18,500 | $72,626 | 25% |
| Augusta UniversityGA · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Boston UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | AdvertisingUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementHealth CommunicationPublic Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Brookdale Community CollegeNJ · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Broward CollegeFL · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Canadian Valley Technology CenterOK · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Connecticut State Community CollegeCT · PublicRequest information → | AdvertisingUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| De Anza CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Ferris State UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Sports CommunicationUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementAdvertisingThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Highline CollegeWA · PublicRequest information → | AdvertisingUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Kennesaw State UniversityGA · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Organizational Communication, GeneralTechnical and Scientific CommunicationInternational and Intercultural CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Kentucky State UniversityKY · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Los Angeles Harbor CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Metropolitan State University of DenverCO · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Technical and Scientific CommunicationPublic Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Missouri State University-SpringfieldMO · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementPolitical CommunicationHealth CommunicationOrganizational Communication, GeneralInternational and Intercultural CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Mohawk Valley Community CollegeNY · PublicRequest information → | AdvertisingUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| North Dakota State University-Main CampusND · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:AdvertisingThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Palomar CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | AdvertisingUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Erie-Behrend CollegePA · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:AdvertisingThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Rider UniversityNJ · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Organizational Communication, GeneralUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Sports CommunicationPublic Relations/Image ManagementHealth CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Rowan UniversityNJ · PublicRequest information → | Sports CommunicationUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:AdvertisingPublic Relations/Image ManagementPublic Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationHealth CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Santiago Canyon CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | AdvertisingUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Sinclair Community CollegeOH · PublicRequest information → | AdvertisingUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Skagit Valley CollegeWA · PublicRequest information → | AdvertisingUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Southern Adventist UniversityTN · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementUndergraduate certificate · On campusOffers: Film Production (BFA) · Animation (BFA) · Media Production (BS) · Photography (BFA) · Advertising (BS) · Public Relations (BS) · Broadcast Journalism (BS)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:AdvertisingPublic Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| State College of Florida-Manatee-SarasotaFL · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| SUNY Buffalo State UniversityNY · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Temple UniversityPA · PublicRequest information → | AdvertisingUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementPublic Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication, OtherOrganizational Communication, GeneralSports CommunicationInternational and Intercultural CommunicationHealth CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| The University of Texas at AustinTX · PublicRequest information → | AdvertisingUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementOrganizational Communication, GeneralSports CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Central MissouriMO · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Cincinnati-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Health CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of FloridaFL · PublicRequest information → | AdvertisingUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of IdahoID · PublicRequest information → | Organizational Communication, GeneralUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:AdvertisingPublic Relations/Image ManagementThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Michigan-DearbornMI · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Health CommunicationInternational and Intercultural CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of ToledoOH · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication, OtherOrganizational Communication, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Wisconsin-OshkoshWI · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Valencia CollegeFL · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Washington University in St LouisMO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Webster UniversityMO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | AdvertisingUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementSports CommunicationCommunication Management and Strategic CommunicationsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Western Kentucky UniversityKY · PublicRequest information → | Organizational Communication, GeneralUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:AdvertisingPublic Relations/Image ManagementHealth CommunicationCommunication Management and Strategic CommunicationsPublic Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Western Michigan UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication, OtherUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:AdvertisingOrganizational Communication, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.
One thing these figures cannot tell you
Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. Full methodology.