Online Educational/Instructional Media Design Master’s degree
43 programs — 17 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, ordered by median debt against median earnings — lowest first.
Data last updated
Field
| Institution | Programcredential and delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| California State University-Monterey BayCA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $14,540 | $104,220 | 14% |
| Florida State UniversityFL · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $20,500 | $77,041 | 27% |
| Utah State UniversityUT · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $23,965 | $86,107 | 28% |
| The University of Texas Rio Grande ValleyTX · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $19,000 | $67,562 | 28% |
| Northern Illinois UniversityIL · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $23,063 | $79,429 | 29% |
| Michigan State UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $24,608 | $67,489 | 36% |
| Fort Hays State UniversityKS · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $24,840 | $64,964 | 38% |
| Arkansas Tech UniversityAR · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $19,230 | $49,760 | 39% |
| Trevecca Nazarene UniversityTN · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $24,821 | $64,048 | 39% |
| University of GeorgiaGA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $31,831 | $79,901 | 40% |
| University of West AlabamaAL · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $27,333 | $60,086 | 45% |
| Georgia State UniversityGA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | $41,000 | — | — |
| Kent State University at KentOH · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | — | $58,965 | — |
| New York UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully onlineOffers: Film and Television (Tisch) (BFA) · Game Design (Tisch Game Center) (BFA) · Integrated Design and Media (Tandon) (BS) · Computer Science (Tandon) (BS) · Computer Science (Tandon) (MS) | — | $117,843 | — |
| Touro UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | — | $94,743 | — |
| West Texas A & M UniversityTX · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | — | $65,110 | — |
| West Virginia UniversityWV · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | — | $77,590 | — |
| Ana G. Mendez UniversityFL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-Los AngelesCA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Central Michigan UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Drury UniversityMO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| East Tennessee State UniversityTN · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Eastern Kentucky UniversityKY · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Emporia State UniversityKS · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Fairfield UniversityCT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Framingham State UniversityMA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Georgia College & State UniversityGA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Indiana University-BloomingtonIN · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully onlineOffers: Audio Engineering and Sound Production (BS) · Music Production – Audio Engineering (BS) · Music Production – Creation and Production (BS) · Performance (BM) · Jazz Studies (BM) · Composition (BM) · Music Education (BME) · Music and an Outside Field (BS) | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Inter American University of Puerto Rico-MetroPR · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| MidAmerica Nazarene UniversityKS · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Missouri State University-SpringfieldMO · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| New York Institute of TechnologyNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Northeastern University Professional ProgramsMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Pennsylvania State University-World CampusPA · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Plymouth State UniversityNH · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| SUNY College at PotsdamNY · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Syracuse UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Tiffin UniversityOH · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University at AlbanyNY · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of DaytonOH · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of DenverCO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of San DiegoCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Webster UniversityMO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.
One thing these figures cannot tell you
Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Educational/Instructional Media Design” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. That pooling also spans delivery: where a school runs the same credential both online and on campus, the federal figures combine both sets of students. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. Full methodology.