On-campus Design and Digital Art Master’s degree
31 programs — 7 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, led by institutions where this is the main program rather than one of many. Federal figures cover the wider program family, so a row may share its numbers with related degrees.
Data last updated
Specific program
Schools file the same degree under different federal codes — Berklee’s music production sits under “Music, Other”, Academy of Art’s under “Recording Arts”. These groups gather every code a program is actually filed under.
Field
Delivery
A note on this grouping. It includes a federal catch-all code, which is where several well-known programs in this area are filed — but catch-alls also hold degrees that are not. Check the program name on each row.
| Institution | Programcredential and delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Illinois Institute of TechnologyIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $144,324 | — |
| University of BaltimoreMD · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $63,427 | — |
| Drexel UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Graphic DesignFashion/Apparel DesignInterior DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $80,986 | — |
| The New SchoolNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusOffers: Integrated Design (Parsons) (BFA)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Fashion/Apparel DesignIndustrial and Product DesignInterior DesignIllustrationGraphic DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $42,587 | $86,473 | 49% |
| Virginia Commonwealth UniversityVA · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:IllustrationFashion/Apparel DesignGraphic DesignInterior DesignDesign and Visual Communications, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $65,638 | — |
| Marymount UniversityVA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Interior DesignFashion/Apparel DesignDesign and Visual Communications, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $95,211 | $69,957 | 136% |
| Arizona State University Campus ImmersionAZ · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Fashion/Apparel DesignGraphic DesignInterior DesignIndustrial and Product DesignDesign and Visual Communications, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $60,449 | $69,930 | 86% |
| Harvard UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of California-Los AngelesCA · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Central FloridaFL · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of OregonOR · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California State University-Long BeachCA · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Interior DesignIndustrial and Product DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| School of the Art Institute of ChicagoIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Fashion/Apparel DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| The University of Texas at AustinTX · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Design and Visual Communications, GeneralInterior DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Washington University in St LouisMO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Design and Visual Communications, GeneralFashion/Apparel DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Maryland-Baltimore CountyMD · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Design and Visual Communications, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Otis College of Art and DesignCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Design and Visual Communications, GeneralFashion/Apparel DesignIndustrial and Product DesignGraphic DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Syracuse UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Design and Visual Communications, GeneralIndustrial and Product DesignCommercial and Advertising ArtIllustrationFashion/Apparel DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Minnesota-Twin CitiesMN · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Graphic DesignIndustrial and Product DesignInterior DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| College for Creative StudiesMI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:IllustrationCommercial and Advertising ArtInterior DesignFashion/Apparel DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Auburn UniversityAL · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Design and Visual Communications, GeneralIndustrial and Product DesignInterior DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Pacific Northwest College of ArtOR · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:IllustrationGraphic DesignDesign and Visual Communications, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Thomas Jefferson UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Fashion/Apparel DesignGraphic DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Purdue University-Main CampusIN · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Design and Visual Communications, GeneralInterior DesignIndustrial and Product DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Ferris State UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Graphic DesignIllustrationInterior DesignIndustrial and Product DesignDesign and Visual Communications, GeneralFashion/Apparel DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Cincinnati-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Design and Visual Communications, GeneralFashion/Apparel DesignInterior DesignIndustrial and Product DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| San Francisco State UniversityCA · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Design and Visual Communications, GeneralInterior DesignIndustrial and Product DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Fashion Institute of TechnologyNY · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Fashion/Apparel DesignCommercial and Advertising ArtIllustrationInterior DesignCommercial PhotographyGraphic DesignIndustrial and Product DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Wisconsin-StoutWI · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Graphic DesignInterior DesignIndustrial and Product DesignGame and Interactive Media DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Massachusetts-DartmouthMA · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Graphic DesignIllustrationFashion/Apparel DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Illinois ChicagoIL · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Graphic DesignIndustrial and Product DesignDesign and Visual Communications, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.
One thing these figures cannot tell you
Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Design and Digital Art” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. Full methodology.