Online Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication programs
48 programs — 26 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, ordered by median debt against median earnings — lowest first.
Data last updated
Field
| Institution | Programcredential and delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Northwood UniversityMI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | AdvertisingBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $18,250 | $68,008 | 27% |
| Washington State UniversityWA · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementBachelor’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:AdvertisingPublic Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationHealth CommunicationTechnical and Scientific CommunicationCommunication Management and Strategic CommunicationsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $19,112 | $67,647 | 28% |
| Texas Tech UniversityTX · PublicRequest information → | AdvertisingBachelor’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementPublic Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationSports CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $20,250 | $62,247 | 33% |
| Boise State UniversityID · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationUndergraduate certificate · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementCommunication Management and Strategic CommunicationsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $22,248 | $61,544 | 36% |
| Drexel UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Communication Management and Strategic CommunicationsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $24,249 | $66,750 | 36% |
| Murray State UniversityKY · PublicRequest information → | Organizational Communication, GeneralBachelor’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementAdvertisingHealth CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $21,235 | $58,265 | 36% |
| The University of AlabamaAL · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementBachelor’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:AdvertisingThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $24,889 | $68,227 | 36% |
| Cleveland State UniversityOH · PublicRequest information → | Organizational Communication, GeneralBachelor’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $21,500 | $55,174 | 39% |
| Eastern Illinois UniversityIL · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementBachelor’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Health CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $23,250 | $59,401 | 39% |
| Western Michigan UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication, OtherBachelor’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:AdvertisingOrganizational Communication, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $25,146 | $64,127 | 39% |
| University of Central OklahomaOK · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Organizational Communication, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $20,000 | $50,636 | 39% |
| Florida State UniversityFL · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationMaster’s degree · Fully online | $31,020 | $77,547 | 40% |
| Georgetown UniversityDC · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementMaster’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $49,149 | $115,091 | 43% |
| Arkansas State UniversityAR · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication, OtherBachelor’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $23,250 | $54,196 | 43% |
| Boston UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | AdvertisingMaster’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementHealth CommunicationPublic Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $39,224 | $90,212 | 43% |
| University of IdahoID · PublicRequest information → | Organizational Communication, GeneralBachelor’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:AdvertisingPublic Relations/Image ManagementThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $24,634 | $56,032 | 44% |
| Western Kentucky UniversityKY · PublicRequest information → | Organizational Communication, GeneralBachelor’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:AdvertisingPublic Relations/Image ManagementHealth CommunicationCommunication Management and Strategic CommunicationsPublic Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $25,000 | $53,839 | 46% |
| Loyola University New OrleansLA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $24,735 | $53,240 | 46% |
| Point Park UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementSports CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $27,000 | $55,545 | 49% |
| University of Akron Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementBachelor’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Organizational Communication, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $25,965 | $51,824 | 50% |
| George Washington UniversityDC · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Political CommunicationMaster’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementHealth CommunicationAdvertisingPublic Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $51,254 | $101,932 | 50% |
| Eastern Kentucky UniversityKY · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementBachelor’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Organizational Communication, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $25,000 | $49,272 | 51% |
| Webster UniversityMO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | AdvertisingMaster’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementSports CommunicationCommunication Management and Strategic CommunicationsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $59,664 | $67,174 | 89% |
| Drexel UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationMaster’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Communication Management and Strategic CommunicationsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $70,518 | — |
| Sacred Heart UniversityCT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationMaster’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Sports CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $71,686 | — |
| St. John's University-New YorkNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication, OtherMaster’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:AdvertisingInternational and Intercultural CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $71,471 | — |
| Ana G. Mendez UniversityFL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Ana G. Mendez UniversityFL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Biola UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationMaster’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Central Connecticut State UniversityCT · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationMaster’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Organizational Communication, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Dallas Baptist UniversityTX · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| East Texas Baptist UniversityTX · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Communication Management and Strategic CommunicationsMaster’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Organizational Communication, GeneralPublic Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Eastern Kentucky UniversityKY · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementUndergraduate certificate · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Organizational Communication, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Indiana University-IndianapolisIN · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationUndergraduate certificate · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementSports CommunicationHealth CommunicationTechnical and Scientific CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Inter American University of Puerto Rico-PoncePR · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementMaster’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Johnson & Wales University-OnlineRI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | AdvertisingUndergraduate certificate · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Kansas State UniversityKS · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationUndergraduate certificate · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Loyola University New OrleansLA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Mesa Community CollegeAZ · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementUndergraduate certificate · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Mesa Community CollegeAZ · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Mississippi CollegeMS · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Sports CommunicationMaster’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementHealth CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Regis UniversityCO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Saint Peter's UniversityNJ · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| San Jose State UniversityCA · PublicRequest information → | AdvertisingBachelor’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Temple UniversityPA · PublicRequest information → | AdvertisingMaster’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Public Relations/Image ManagementPublic Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication, OtherOrganizational Communication, GeneralSports CommunicationInternational and Intercultural CommunicationHealth CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| The University of AlabamaAL · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations/Image ManagementMaster’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:AdvertisingThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Illinois Urbana-ChampaignIL · PublicRequest information → | AdvertisingMaster’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Health CommunicationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of West FloridaFL · PublicRequest information → | Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.
One thing these figures cannot tell you
Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. That pooling also spans delivery: where a school runs the same credential both online and on campus, the federal figures combine both sets of students. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. Full methodology.