Game Design Undergraduate certificate
12 programs — 2 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, led by institutions where this is the main program rather than one of many. Federal figures cover the wider program family, so a row may share its numbers with related degrees.
Data last updated
Specific program
Schools file the same degree under different federal codes — Berklee’s music production sits under “Music, Other”, Academy of Art’s under “Recording Arts”. These groups gather every code a program is actually filed under.
Delivery
| Institution | Programcredential and delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Academy of Interactive EntertainmentLA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Computer GraphicsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $32,664 | — |
| Academy of Interactive EntertainmentWA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Computer GraphicsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $12,000 | $42,554 | 28% |
| Butler Community CollegeKS · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lawrence Technological UniversityMI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Mississippi Gulf Coast Community CollegeMS · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Montclair State UniversityNJ · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Orange Technical College-South CampusFL · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Robert Morris UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Cincinnati-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Data Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationWeb Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Academy of Art UniversityCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignComputer GraphicsComputer Software and Media Applications, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Eastern Iowa Community College DistrictIA · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignData Modeling/Warehousing and Database AdministrationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Riverland Community CollegeMN · PublicRequest information → | Modeling, Virtual Environments and SimulationUndergraduate certificate · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.
One thing these figures cannot tell you
Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Game Design” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. Full methodology.