Online Design & applied arts Associate degree
27 programs — 8 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, ordered by median debt against median earnings — lowest first.
Data last updated
Specific program
Schools file the same degree under different federal codes — Berklee’s music production sits under “Music, Other”, Academy of Art’s under “Recording Arts”. These groups gather every code a program is actually filed under.
Field
| Institution | Programcredential and delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Modern College of DesignOH · Private for-profitRequest information → | Commercial and Advertising ArtAssociate degree · Fully online | $5,500 | $39,430 | 14% |
| Fashion Institute of TechnologyNY · PublicRequest information → | Fashion/Apparel DesignAssociate degree · Online or on campusOffers: Graphic Design (BFA) · Illustration (BFA) · Illustration (AAS) · Animation, Interactive Media and Game Design (BFA) · Communication Design Foundation (AAS) · Advertising and Marketing Communications (AAS) · Film and Media (AAS) · Photography and Related Media (AAS)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Commercial and Advertising ArtIllustrationInterior DesignCommercial PhotographyGraphic DesignDesign and Applied Arts, OtherIndustrial and Product DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $11,640 | $45,096 | 26% |
| Guilford Technical Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information → | Commercial and Advertising ArtAssociate degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Game and Interactive Media DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $11,708 | $33,521 | 35% |
| Gateway Technical CollegeWI · PublicRequest information → | Graphic DesignAssociate degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Interior DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $14,966 | $33,848 | 44% |
| Full Sail UniversityFL · Private for-profitRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherAssociate degree · Fully onlineOffers: Audio Production (BS) · Music Production (BS) · Recording Arts (BS) · Live Event Production (BS) · Music Business (BS) · Film Production (BFA) · Game Design (BS) · Game Development (BS) · Computer Animation (BS) · Graphic Design (BS) · Digital Marketing (BS)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Design and Visual Communications, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $24,392 | $38,716 | 63% |
| Central Piedmont Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information → | Game and Interactive Media DesignAssociate degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Commercial and Advertising ArtInterior DesignGraphic DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $47,967 | — |
| Northampton County Area Community CollegePA · PublicRequest information → | Graphic DesignAssociate degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Interior DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $41,282 | — |
| Scottsdale Community CollegeAZ · PublicRequest information → | Interior DesignAssociate degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Design and Visual Communications, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $46,898 | — |
| Anne Arundel Community CollegeMD · PublicRequest information → | Graphic DesignAssociate degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Interior DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Blinn College DistrictTX · PublicRequest information → | Commercial and Advertising ArtAssociate degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Interior DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Central Community CollegeNE · PublicRequest information → | Commercial and Advertising ArtAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Chandler-Gilbert Community CollegeAZ · PublicRequest information → | IllustrationAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Columbia Central University-CaguasPR · Private for-profitRequest information → | Graphic DesignAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Community College of Allegheny CountyPA · PublicRequest information → | Graphic DesignAssociate degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Industrial and Product DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Copiah-Lincoln Community CollegeMS · PublicRequest information → | Commercial and Advertising ArtAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Dallas CollegeTX · PublicRequest information → | Design and Visual Communications, GeneralAssociate degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Graphic DesignFashion/Apparel DesignInterior DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Eastern New Mexico University-Roswell CampusNM · PublicRequest information → | Graphic DesignAssociate degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Game and Interactive Media DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lamar Institute of TechnologyTX · PublicRequest information → | Graphic DesignAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Los Angeles Valley CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Commercial and Advertising ArtAssociate degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Graphic DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Mesa Community CollegeAZ · PublicRequest information → | Graphic DesignAssociate degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Fashion/Apparel DesignIllustrationGame and Interactive Media DesignDesign and Visual Communications, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Mt Hood Community CollegeOR · PublicRequest information → | Graphic DesignAssociate degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Game and Interactive Media DesignCommercial PhotographyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Mt San Antonio CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Fashion/Apparel DesignAssociate degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Interior DesignGraphic DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Napa Valley CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Graphic DesignAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| NUC UniversityPR · Private for-profitRequest information → | Graphic DesignAssociate degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Game and Interactive Media DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Pasadena City CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Graphic DesignAssociate degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Game and Interactive Media DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Pitt Community CollegeNC · PublicRequest information → | Commercial and Advertising ArtAssociate degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Game and Interactive Media DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| San Joaquin Delta CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Graphic DesignAssociate degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Interior DesignFashion/Apparel DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.
One thing these figures cannot tell you
Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Design & applied arts” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. That pooling also spans delivery: where a school runs the same credential both online and on campus, the federal figures combine both sets of students. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. Full methodology.