Online Design and Digital Art Bachelor’s degree
17 programs — 9 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, ordered by median debt against median earnings — lowest first.
Data last updated
Specific program
Schools file the same degree under different federal codes — Berklee’s music production sits under “Music, Other”, Academy of Art’s under “Recording Arts”. These groups gather every code a program is actually filed under.
Field
| Institution | Programcredential and delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arizona State University Digital ImmersionAZ · PublicRequest information → | Design and Applied Arts, OtherBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $20,702 | $59,641 | 35% |
| Western Michigan UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Industrial and Product DesignInterior DesignFashion/Apparel DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $27,000 | $58,634 | 46% |
| Central Michigan UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Interior DesignBachelor’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Fashion/Apparel DesignGraphic DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $27,500 | $54,254 | 51% |
| Lesley UniversityMA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | IllustrationBachelor’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Design and Applied Arts, OtherGraphic DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $23,333 | $45,099 | 52% |
| California Baptist UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Interior DesignIllustrationThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $26,000 | $47,494 | 55% |
| University of the Incarnate WordTX · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Interior DesignFashion/Apparel DesignGame and Interactive Media DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $27,000 | $48,472 | 56% |
| Savannah College of Art and DesignGA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | IllustrationBachelor’s degree · Online or on campusOffers: Film and Television (BFA) · Animation (BFA) · Animation (MA/MFA) · Visual Effects (BFA) · Motion Media Design (BFA) · Illustration (BFA) · Illustration (MA/MFA) · Graphic Design (BA/BFA)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Interior DesignFashion/Apparel DesignDesign and Visual Communications, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $26,200 | $45,923 | 57% |
| Fitchburg State UniversityMA · PublicRequest information → | Game and Interactive Media DesignBachelor’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Design and Visual Communications, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $26,000 | $42,946 | 61% |
| Asbury UniversityKY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $28,812 | — | — |
| California College of ASUCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California College of ASUCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Dallas Baptist UniversityTX · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Commercial and Advertising ArtBachelor’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Graphic DesignCommercial PhotographyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Inter American University of Puerto Rico-AguadillaPR · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lakeland UniversityWI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Graphic DesignBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Hawaii-West OahuHI · PublicRequest information → | Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of New Mexico-Main CampusNM · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Utah State UniversityUT · PublicRequest information → | Educational/Instructional TechnologyBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.
One thing these figures cannot tell you
Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Design and Digital Art” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. That pooling also spans delivery: where a school runs the same credential both online and on campus, the federal figures combine both sets of students. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. Full methodology.