Audio and Music Production Master’s degree
38 programs — 12 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, led by institutions where this is the main program rather than one of many. Federal figures cover the wider program family, so a row may share its numbers with related degrees.
Data last updated
Specific program
Schools file the same degree under different federal codes — Berklee’s music production sits under “Music, Other”, Academy of Art’s under “Recording Arts”. These groups gather every code a program is actually filed under.
Delivery
| Institution | Programcredential and delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Western Michigan UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic, GeneralVoice and OperaJazz/Jazz StudiesMusic Theory and CompositionConductingKeyboard InstrumentsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $33,453 | — |
| Temple UniversityPA · PublicRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralJazz/Jazz StudiesMusic, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionVoice and OperaConductingKeyboard InstrumentsMusic History, Literature, and TheoryThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $37,500 | $44,122 | 85% |
| San Francisco Conservatory of MusicCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Stringed InstrumentsVoice and OperaKeyboard InstrumentsBrass InstrumentsWoodwind InstrumentsJazz/Jazz StudiesMusic Theory and CompositionPercussion InstrumentsConductingThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $64,250 | $51,822 | 124% |
| Shenandoah UniversityVA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic PedagogyConductingMusic Theory and CompositionMusic, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $42,787 | — |
| Carnegie Mellon UniversityPA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic, GeneralStringed InstrumentsVoice and OperaMusic Theory and CompositionMusic PedagogyConductingThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $50,693 | $39,953 | 127% |
| University of HartfordCT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionJazz/Jazz StudiesVoice and OperaWoodwind InstrumentsKeyboard InstrumentsStringed InstrumentsBrass InstrumentsPercussion InstrumentsMusic History, Literature, and TheoryConductingMusic, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $19,227 | $54,836 | 35% |
| University of DenverCO · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music, GeneralMusic Performance, GeneralMusicology and EthnomusicologyMusic Theory and CompositionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $41,000 | $53,050 | 77% |
| Johns Hopkins UniversityMD · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionMusic History, Literature, and TheoryMusic, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $57,528 | $51,713 | 111% |
| University of RochesterNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionJazz/Jazz StudiesMusic, GeneralConductingKeyboard InstrumentsMusicology and EthnomusicologyMusic History, Literature, and TheoryVoice and OperaThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $44,399 | $42,543 | 104% |
| Ohio University-Main CampusOH · PublicRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music PedagogyMusic Performance, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionConductingMusic History, Literature, and TheoryKeyboard InstrumentsVoice and OperaThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | — | $50,365 | — |
| University of OregonOR · PublicRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionJazz/Jazz StudiesMusicology and EthnomusicologyConductingThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $33,462 | $45,719 | 73% |
| University of Michigan-Ann ArborMI · PublicRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic History, Literature, and TheoryMusic Theory and CompositionKeyboard InstrumentsMusic, GeneralConductingStringed InstrumentsWoodwind InstrumentsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $41,000 | $38,693 | 106% |
| Hampton UniversityVA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · Online or on campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Indiana University-IndianapolisIN · PublicRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Seattle Film InstituteWA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Southern Utah UniversityUT · PublicRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Valley ForgePA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Middle Tennessee State UniversityTN · PublicRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Rowan UniversityNJ · PublicRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music, GeneralMusic Performance, GeneralJazz/Jazz StudiesThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Central OklahomaOK · PublicRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralJazz/Jazz StudiesMusic, GeneralKeyboard InstrumentsVoice and OperaStringed InstrumentsConductingMusic PedagogyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Los Angeles College of MusicCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Theory and CompositionVoice and OperaStringed InstrumentsPercussion InstrumentsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Union UniversityTN · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Sound ArtsMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Massachusetts-LowellMA · PublicRequest information → | Sound ArtsMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music PedagogyMusic TechnologyMusic Performance, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of MobileAL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Voice and OperaMusic, GeneralMusic Performance, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Syracuse UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralVoice and OperaMusic Theory and CompositionMusic History, Literature, and TheoryConductingKeyboard InstrumentsStringed InstrumentsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| CUNY City CollegeNY · PublicRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Jazz/Jazz StudiesMusic, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Bennington CollegeVT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Sound ArtsMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Coastal Carolina UniversitySC · PublicRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Kent State University at KentOH · PublicRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music, GeneralMusic Performance, GeneralConductingMusic History, Literature, and TheoryMusic Theory and CompositionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Loyola University New OrleansLA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Voice and OperaMusic, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionMusic Performance, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of Northern IowaIA · PublicRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralMusic, GeneralMusic Theory and CompositionConductingKeyboard InstrumentsJazz/Jazz StudiesMusic, OtherThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Oakland UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralVoice and OperaConductingKeyboard InstrumentsMusic, OtherMusic, GeneralMusic PedagogyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Columbia College ChicagoIL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music, GeneralMusic, OtherMusic Theory and CompositionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| California Baptist UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music, GeneralMusic Performance, GeneralVoice and OperaMusic Theory and CompositionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Oberlin CollegeOH · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralJazz/Jazz StudiesMusic, OtherMusic Theory and CompositionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| University of North FloridaFL · PublicRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music Performance, GeneralJazz/Jazz StudiesThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Brown UniversityRI · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music, GeneralMusicology and EthnomusicologyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Ramapo College of New JerseyNJ · PublicRequest information → | Music TechnologyMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Music, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.
One thing these figures cannot tell you
Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Audio and Music Production” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. Full methodology.