Online Film and Video programs
25 programs — 9 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, led by institutions where this is the main program rather than one of many. Federal figures cover the wider program family, so a row may share its numbers with related degrees.
Data last updated
Specific program
Schools file the same degree under different federal codes — Berklee’s music production sits under “Music, Other”, Academy of Art’s under “Recording Arts”. These groups gather every code a program is actually filed under.
A note on this grouping. It includes a federal catch-all code, which is where several well-known programs in this area are filed — but catch-alls also hold degrees that are not. Check the program name on each row.
| Institution | Programcredential and delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Florida Institute of Recording Sound and TechnologyFL · Private for-profitRequest information → | Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionUndergraduate certificate · Fully online | $7,853 | $33,668 | 23% |
| Western Michigan UniversityMI · PublicRequest information → | Film/Video and Photographic Arts, OtherBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $27,000 | $45,391 | 59% |
| The University of MontanaMT · PublicRequest information → | Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionBachelor’s degree · Fully online | $25,011 | $36,169 | 69% |
| Mount Saint Mary's UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionBachelor’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:PhotographyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $26,188 | $47,091 | 56% |
| New York Film AcademyCA · Private for-profitRequest information → | Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionMaster’s degree · Online or on campusOffers: Filmmaking (BFA) · Filmmaking (AFA) · Filmmaking (MFA) · Cinematography (MFA) · Producing (MFA)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:PhotographyDocumentary ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $127,588 | $38,915 | 328% |
| Full Sail UniversityFL · Private for-profitRequest information → | Film/Video and Photographic Arts, OtherBachelor’s degree · Online or on campusOffers: Film Production (BFA)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Film/Cinema/Media StudiesThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $25,923 | $33,579 | 77% |
| Full Sail UniversityFL · Private for-profitRequest information → | Film/Video and Photographic Arts, OtherAssociate degree · Online or on campusOffers: Film Production (BFA)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Film/Cinema/Media StudiesThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $20,000 | $24,816 | 81% |
| Full Sail UniversityFL · Private for-profitRequest information → | Film/Video and Photographic Arts, OtherMaster’s degree · Fully onlineOffers: Film Production (BFA)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Film/Cinema/Media StudiesThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $54,395 | $39,171 | 139% |
| Full Sail UniversityFL · Private for-profitRequest information → | Film/Video and Photographic Arts, OtherUndergraduate certificate · Fully onlineOffers: Film Production (BFA)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Film/Cinema/Media StudiesThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $17,185 | — | — |
| College of the DesertCA · PublicRequest information → | Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionUndergraduate certificate · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Cuyahoga Community College DistrictOH · PublicRequest information → | Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionUndergraduate certificate · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Cuyahoga Community College DistrictOH · PublicRequest information → | Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionAssociate degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| DSDTMI · Private for-profitRequest information → | Film/Video and Photographic Arts, OtherUndergraduate certificate · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Georgia Gwinnett CollegeGA · PublicRequest information → | Film/Video and Photographic Arts, OtherAssociate degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Georgia Gwinnett CollegeGA · PublicRequest information → | Film/Video and Photographic Arts, OtherBachelor’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Los Angeles City CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionUndergraduate certificate · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Maharishi International UniversityIA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| National UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Southeastern UniversityFL · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionBachelor’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Vermont College of Fine ArtsVT · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionMaster’s degree · Fully online | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Mount Saint Mary's UniversityCA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionMaster’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:PhotographyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Fitchburg State UniversityMA · PublicRequest information → | Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionBachelor’s degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:PhotographyThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Cosumnes River CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionAssociate degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Film/Cinema/Media StudiesThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Los Angeles Valley CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionUndergraduate certificate · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Film/Cinema/Media StudiesThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Los Angeles Valley CollegeCA · PublicRequest information → | Cinematography and Film/Video ProductionAssociate degree · Fully onlineWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Film/Cinema/Media StudiesThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.
One thing these figures cannot tell you
Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Film and Video” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. That pooling also spans delivery: where a school runs the same credential both online and on campus, the federal figures combine both sets of students. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. Full methodology.