Audio & recording technology Master’s degree
7 programs — 3 with federal cost data, the rest suppressed for small class sizes and listed after them, ordered by median debt against median earnings — lowest first.
Data last updated
Specific program
Schools file the same degree under different federal codes — Berklee’s music production sits under “Music, Other”, Academy of Art’s under “Recording Arts”. These groups gather every code a program is actually filed under.
Delivery
| Institution | Programcredential and delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New York Institute of TechnologyNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Radio and Television Broadcasting Technology/TechnicianMaster’s degree · On campus | $46,701 | $79,258 | 59% |
| American UniversityDC · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Recording Arts Technology/TechnicianMaster’s degree · On campus | — | $74,573 | — |
| Savannah College of Art and DesignGA · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Recording Arts Technology/TechnicianMaster’s degree · On campusOffers: Film and Television (BFA) · Animation (BFA) · Animation (MA/MFA) · Visual Effects (BFA) · Motion Media Design (BFA) · Illustration (BFA) · Illustration (MA/MFA) · Graphic Design (BA/BFA) | — | $56,591 | — |
| Belmont UniversityTN · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Recording Arts Technology/TechnicianMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Johns Hopkins UniversityMD · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Recording Arts Technology/TechnicianMaster’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Radio and Television Broadcasting Technology/TechnicianThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Long Island UniversityNY · Private nonprofitRequest information → | Radio and Television Broadcasting Technology/TechnicianMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Middle Tennessee State UniversityTN · PublicRequest information → | Recording Arts Technology/TechnicianMaster’s degree · On campus | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.
One thing these figures cannot tell you
Earnings and debt are reported by the federal government at a four-digit program level, so a figure shown against “Audio & recording technology” covers every related program at that institution rather than one named degree. Full methodology.