Best value Tech and Development programs
Ranked by one number: median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. Lower is better. Nothing else is weighted, and no school can pay to appear here.
Data last updated
How this ranking is produced
- The only input is median debt ÷ median earnings, both from the College Scorecard. There is no reputation score, no survey, and no editorial judgement.
- Programs are ranked within credential level. A certificate with small debt would otherwise outrank every bachelor’s degree, which is not a comparison anyone is actually making.
- A program appears only if it reports both figures. Programs the government suppresses for small class sizes are absent, not penalised.
- A credential tier is shown only where at least five programs qualify, so a ranking never rests on two or three data points.
- Debt covers federal loans only. Private borrowing is invisible here, so a program’s real cost may be higher than its position suggests.
- Earnings count only students who completed. Programs with high dropout rates look better on this measure than they deserve to.
Undergraduate certificate
The 10 lowest debt-to-earnings ratios of 87 undergraduate certificate programs reporting both figures.
| # | Institution | Fieldand delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | College of DuPageIL · Public | Computer Programming, Specific ApplicationsUndergraduate certificate · On campus | $5,910 | $87,336 | 7% |
| 2 | MyComputerCareer at ColumbusOH · Private for-profit | Computer and Information Systems Security/Auditing/Information AssuranceUndergraduate certificate · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Network and System Administration/AdministratorSystem, Networking, and LAN/WAN Management/ManagerThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $4,750 | $58,108 | 8% |
| 3 | University of Phoenix-ArizonaAZ · Private for-profit | Computer Programming/Programmer, GeneralUndergraduate certificate · HybridOffers: Business – Marketing (BS) · Communication (BS) · Business Fundamentals (AA) | $7,125 | $71,953 | 10% |
| 4 | University of Phoenix-CaliforniaCA · Private for-profit | Computer ProgrammingUndergraduate certificate · Not reported | $7,125 | $71,953 | 10% |
| 5 | California Technical Academy | Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementUndergraduate certificate · Not reported | $5,255 | $51,844 | 10% |
| 6 | Northwood Technical CollegeWI · Public | Computer & information sciencesUndergraduate certificate · Not reported | $5,817 | $57,349 | 10% |
| 7 | Colorado State University GlobalCO · Public | Information TechnologyUndergraduate certificate · Hybrid | $7,125 | $69,786 | 10% |
| 8 | Northern Virginia Community CollegeVA · Public | Computer and Information Systems Security/Auditing/Information AssuranceUndergraduate certificate · Not reported | $8,500 | $80,537 | 11% |
| 9 | University of Phoenix-HawaiiHI · Private for-profit | Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementUndergraduate certificate · Not reported | $7,125 | $64,743 | 11% |
| 10 | University of Phoenix-ArizonaAZ · Private for-profit | Computer and Information Systems Security/Auditing/Information AssuranceUndergraduate certificate · HybridOffers: Business – Marketing (BS) · Communication (BS) · Business Fundamentals (AA)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Network and System Administration/AdministratorComputer Support SpecialistWeb/Multimedia Management and WebmasterThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $7,125 | $64,743 | 11% |
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
Associate degree
The 10 lowest debt-to-earnings ratios of 223 associate degree programs reporting both figures.
| # | Institution | Fieldand delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bristol Community CollegeMA · Public | Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralAssociate degree · Fully online | $4,433 | $57,413 | 8% |
| 2 | Austin Community College DistrictTX · Public | Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralAssociate degree · On campus | $7,348 | $77,248 | 10% |
| 3 | Pima Community CollegeAZ · Public | Computer Systems Networking and TelecommunicationsAssociate degree · On campus | $4,900 | $49,524 | 10% |
| 4 | Montgomery CollegeMD · Public | Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralAssociate degree · Fully online | $8,537 | $85,438 | 10% |
| 5 | Cincinnati State Technical and Community CollegeOH · Public | Computer Programming/Programmer, GeneralAssociate degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Computer Programming, Specific ApplicationsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $9,006 | $86,910 | 10% |
| 6 | Salt Lake Community CollegeUT · Public | Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralAssociate degree · On campus | $8,041 | $74,200 | 11% |
| 7 | Delaware Technical Community College-TerryDE · Public | Information TechnologyAssociate degree · HybridWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $7,218 | $64,667 | 11% |
| 8 | Gwinnett Technical CollegeGA · Public | Computer Programming/Programmer, GeneralAssociate degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Computer Programming, Specific ApplicationsThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $6,333 | $55,806 | 11% |
| 9 | Northern Virginia Community CollegeVA · Public | Computer ScienceAssociate degree · On campus | $9,598 | $83,554 | 11% |
| 10 | Fox Valley Technical CollegeWI · Public | Computer Programming/Programmer, GeneralAssociate degree · On campus | $9,048 | $77,481 | 12% |
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
Bachelor’s degree
The 10 lowest debt-to-earnings ratios of 881 bachelor’s degree programs reporting both figures.
| # | Institution | Fieldand delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Stanford UniversityCA · Private nonprofit | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · On campus | $10,399 | $214,907 | 5% |
| 2 | Massachusetts Institute of TechnologyMA · Private nonprofit | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · On campus | $11,077 | $225,141 | 5% |
| 3 | Brown UniversityRI · Private nonprofit | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · On campus | $11,500 | $214,479 | 5% |
| 4 | Williams CollegeMA · Private nonprofit | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · On campus | $12,208 | $209,574 | 6% |
| 5 | University of PennsylvaniaPA · Private nonprofit | Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Artificial IntelligenceThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $15,000 | $241,380 | 6% |
| 6 | Brigham Young UniversityUT · Private nonprofit | Computer/Information Technology Services Administration and Management, OtherBachelor’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Computer and Information Systems Security/Auditing/Information AssuranceThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $7,400 | $118,606 | 6% |
| 7 | Johns Hopkins UniversityMD · Private nonprofit | Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor’s degree · On campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Artificial IntelligenceThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $12,750 | $196,467 | 6% |
| 8 | Cornell UniversityNY · Private nonprofit | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · On campus | $14,750 | $223,309 | 7% |
| 9 | Brigham Young University-IdahoID · Private nonprofit | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · On campus | $7,806 | $117,895 | 7% |
| 10 | University of California-BerkeleyCA · Public | Computer ScienceBachelor’s degree · On campus | $13,750 | $204,379 | 7% |
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
Master’s degree
The 10 lowest debt-to-earnings ratios of 143 master’s degree programs reporting both figures.
| # | Institution | Fieldand delivery | at completion | 4 yrs after | Median federal loan debt at completion, divided by median earnings four years later. It answers a single question: how much of one year’s income do you owe on the day you finish?Below 50% is generally considered manageable. Above 100% means graduates owe more than they earn in a year, and repayment on a standard ten-year plan starts to consume a serious share of income.Debt covers federal loans only, so real ratios are often worse. Both figures are medians — half of graduates fall on the wrong side of each. |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Western Governors UniversityUT · Private nonprofit | Computer and Information Systems Security/Auditing/Information AssuranceMaster’s degree · HybridOffers: Computer Science (BS) · Software Engineering (BS) · Information Technology (BS) · User Experience Design (BS) · Front-End Web Development (Certificate)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:System, Networking, and LAN/WAN Management/ManagerThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $11,526 | $144,205 | 8% |
| 2 | Georgia Institute of Technology-Main CampusGA · Public | Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralMaster’s degree · Online or on campusOffers: Computer Science (BS) · Computational Media (BS) · Digital Media (MS)What this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Human-Centered Technology DesignThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $20,500 | $195,622 | 10% |
| 3 | University of Illinois Urbana-ChampaignIL · Public | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | $18,835 | $179,395 | 10% |
| 4 | University of California-San DiegoCA · Public | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | $25,903 | $231,397 | 11% |
| 5 | University of North Carolina at CharlotteNC · Public | Computer and Information Systems Security/Auditing/Information AssuranceMaster’s degree · On campus | $20,500 | $158,814 | 13% |
| 6 | Colorado School of MinesCO · Public | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | $20,500 | $147,702 | 14% |
| 7 | Cornell UniversityNY · Private nonprofit | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | $34,528 | $235,762 | 15% |
| 8 | Johns Hopkins UniversityMD · Private nonprofit | Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralMaster’s degree · Online or on campusWhat this figure actually coversThe federal government reports debt and earnings for a whole program family rather than one degree. At this institution that family also includes:Artificial IntelligenceThe figures on this row describe all of them together. We cannot separate them, and we do not estimate. | $26,126 | $176,945 | 15% |
| 9 | Stevens Institute of TechnologyNJ · Private nonprofit | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · Fully online | $26,806 | $171,253 | 16% |
| 10 | Portland State UniversityOR · Public | Computer ScienceMaster’s degree · On campus | $24,484 | $145,715 | 17% |
Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study (retrieved September 2026)
How we are paid: StudyCreative earns revenue when readers ask to be connected with a school. No school pays to appear in these figures, to change them, or to be left out of them. Full disclosure.
The other end of the same list
Ranking by value means some programs come last. We publish those too — the cost page names the tech and development programs where graduates owe more than they earn in a year.